Day 2 of Me and Ubuntu.

October 29, 2008 at 7:25 PM 22 comments


I see it has been long since I wrote a new post. There are two reasons for this. One being my XP installation getting affected by viruses and me deleting a system file assuming it was a virus. Then I saw what Su has done with his PC on Ubuntu and wanted to do the same with mine. Here begins the quest towards making my PC work better than it has ever worked up until now. This post is going to be pretty long. That is because I am describing the journey of an annoyed-to-the-core Windows user to the land of (virtually)unlimited freedom – Ubuntu.

Ubuntu is an ancient African word meaning “Humanity to the People”. I was wondering why it was named this way until I conducted a very detailed research on its usage and manipulation. Let me start it off by mentioning some advantages of Ubuntu(or any other Linux platform for that matter) over Microsoft Operating Systems. Here they are:

  • Open source – That means it is completely free! No CD-keys or activation or anything annoying you can think of. You can also modify it and release it under your own name. πŸ˜€
  • All supported softwares are also open source or free for usage. πŸ™‚
  • Out of this world community support. There are so many forums that it will take you a lifetime to explore all of them. But Any question you ask will be almost immediately be answered.
  • No viruses! πŸ˜€ YAY! πŸ˜€
  • Detects all file systems. Unlike Windows, Linux OS can detect the Windows file systems like FAT, FAT32, NTFS, etc., and even the Apple file system HFS. πŸ˜€
  • This is not really an advantage, but still I would like to mention it. πŸ™‚ You can boast about the exhilarating performance of your above average PC. If I am right in my approximations, it should perform 100 times better than Vista on the same hardware. πŸ˜›

That list might not even be close to completion. But let me progress onto the other things I wanted to tell. I faced a very irritating problem while I installed the 64-bit version of Ubuntu 8.04 (the Hardy Heron release). My graphic driver was not stable. But I have kind of figured a very UN-technical way around it. I just switch to a lower resolution and switch back to my 1024×768 resolution. It performs exceptionally well. πŸ˜€

There started my never ending journey to the land of freedom. Whether I would make it or not, I could not tell then. I cannot tell even now. Guided by some unexplainable urge within me, I started learning the ways of the Ubuntu warrior. I guess that was the first “Boss Monster” I fought in the Quest for a better OS. After all that was aside, I found myself with a huge arsenal of weapons to use against comparatively weaker enemies. I kept getting stronger.

This way and that I slashed with the Mac OSX-like dock which Vista failed miserably in replicating, and killed the monster of really unappealing graphics. But the monster was effectively vanquished during midnight. The desktop got stuck to the Midnight Mac OSX look. Dark was the journey until now and light was slowly emerging thanks to the ever-powerful Terminal.

This was an even bigger challenge for me as this weapon is not only the most powerful and heart quickening-ly effective, but it could also mean the death of the OS in the hands of a clumsy warrior. πŸ™‚ But the all powerful Terminal assisted me as I proved I was a warrior worthy enough; at least if not the most worthy to be given power.

On and on it guided me through the darkness; urging me to put one foot in front of another when I wandered through the unchartered realms of Microsoft Windows XP. I meant the installation of XP after Ubuntu has been installed. It was a very disheartening place. The more you were there, the more you would find yourself crippled. Me being a very average warrior, succumbed to the disease and sacrificed the spirit of the great Ubuntu. The GRUB armor had been lost. Alas! It was my carelessness.

And when all hope was lost, the unrelenting demon of the XP boot-up turned up. In its hands was the GRUB armor that protected me so long. I remembered all the times I had escaped from certain death because the GRUB armor which is induced with the spirit of Ubuntu itself. I felt an anger deep inside me well up inside me. It was so huge that I myself could not control it. And then I felt it… The spirit of Ubuntu. What I saw to my side made me dumbfounded for some that could not be counted. It was the great Firefox himself. With him was the ever powerful staff of the Ubuntu forums. One hit was all that took for defeating the Demon.

Now that GRUB was with me again, I could control the Demon and will it to carry out my every whim. It is day 2 of my journey and I have seen what can be explained in words as just the tip of the great iceberg. I learned that there was an even greater spirit at work here. The mother of all spirits that help a warrior attain his goal of freedom. It is the spirit of Open Source. The journey continues….

I have included a set of screen shots that I thought would show you all the stupendous sights during my journey. One more thing. I still am a very huge Apple fan and nothing can change that. πŸ™‚ Not even you Jit a.k.a T πŸ˜€ Please click on the pics and see “The big picture” πŸ˜€ so that you don’t miss anything that is supposed to be seen. πŸ˜›

D

Ripples on the surface. πŸ˜€ The water effect.

The famous Apple dock.

The famous Apple dock. Marvellous isn't it? Elegance redifined.

The applications pop-up menu.

The applications pop-up menu. The super- useful pop-up menu that comes up when you use the dock.

Check out the icons.

Check out the icons. This is all I could manage to capture before the screenshot manager popped up and the menu disintegrated. πŸ˜› I went mad when I saw the icon for Firefox.

That completes the screen shot set of this time’s episode of….. UBUNTU!!! Signing off a happier man, Pavan a.k.a Anniyan. πŸ™‚ Good day to you all. πŸ™‚

Entry filed under: Computer, Linux, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

The kiss of an angel. Once upon a time – (Chapter 1) The two poles of a magnet.

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. » Day 2 of Me and Ubuntu.  |  October 29, 2008 at 7:30 PM

    […] Posted in Computer, Linux, Uncategorized Tagged: African, Apple, Firefox , forums, freedom, GRUB, Linux, Mac OSX, Microsoft, Open source, Operating System, PC, quest, screen-shots, support, Terminal, Ubuntu, virus, Vista, warrior, … Day 2 of Me and Ubuntu. […]

    Reply
  • 2. smallstar  |  October 29, 2008 at 9:11 PM

    Good day to u, too, darling! πŸ™‚ it is good to hear that ur computer is working better… *HUGS*

    Reply
  • 3. Su  |  October 29, 2008 at 10:43 PM

    My love story and ur battle story, though different, came up for the same cause and came out wit the same result. Congrats dude! we’ve opened up a new world for ourselves… together! πŸ™‚

    PS : Link my post with a broader phrase just to increase visibility… like “…what Su has done…” πŸ˜› I’ve updated my post givin ur link too… πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  • 4. arvind  |  October 29, 2008 at 10:44 PM

    have heard lots about ubuntu ..
    never tried..
    my PC is on the verge of ex[ploding πŸ˜›
    so soon i will try ubuntu πŸ˜€

    Reply
  • 5. I am in Love… Again! « Su  |  October 29, 2008 at 11:05 PM

    […] : If mine was a love story, my closest pal, Anniyan’s was a battle well fought. Care to take a look? View […]

    Reply
  • 6. lefty.crupps  |  October 30, 2008 at 2:45 AM

    > The mother of all spirits that help a warrior attain his goal
    > of freedom. It is the spirit of Open Source.

    I think its the spirit of Free Software; the Open Source spirit works with Microsoft as well as with our camp, but Free Software is what gives our software its powers, not the Open Source development.

    Reply
  • 7. Anniyan  |  October 30, 2008 at 8:58 AM

    Smallstar

    Good day to u, too, darling! πŸ™‚ it is good to hear that ur computer is working better… *HUGS*

    Me too. πŸ™‚ Now I can continue reading the new posts. There are many I see. πŸ™‚

    Su

    My love story and ur battle story, though different, came up for the same cause and came out wit the same result. Congrats dude! we’ve opened up a new world for ourselves… together! πŸ™‚

    But how was the story? I thought that was my best piece of writing with respect to merging technology and adventure.

    PS : Link my post with a broader phrase just to increase visibility… like β€œβ€¦what Su has done…”

    Its done dude. I wanted to link to your blog first and later the post. Hence the mix-up. πŸ™‚

    Arvind

    have heard lots about ubuntu ..
    never tried..
    my PC is on the verge of ex[ploding πŸ˜›
    so soon i will try ubuntu πŸ˜€

    Make sure you use the right distribution of linux for you. This quiz should help you make the right choice. πŸ™‚

    lefty.crupps

    I think its the spirit of Free Software; the Open Source spirit works with Microsoft as well as with our camp, but Free Software is what gives our software its powers, not the Open Source development.

    I understand the difference. I wrote it this way to protray my creativity. That is all. I thought it would sound more dramatic this way. πŸ˜€

    Reply
  • 8. T  |  October 30, 2008 at 9:14 AM

    So you managed to get Ubuntu on your system :p And naah you don’t need to shun Apple.
    As for screen and graphics setting run this application in terminal:
    gksu displayconfig-gtk

    You can select the monitor model, resolution and graphic card details.

    you may like to create a launcher in the menu for this application:
    System>Preferences>Main Menu

    Reply
  • 9. linuxowns  |  October 30, 2008 at 1:59 PM

    You can take screenshots with the gimp, those will capture everything, menus included.

    Just set the timer to 5 seconds.

    Reply
  • 10. smallstar  |  October 30, 2008 at 2:57 PM

    @Anniyan: eheh… Yeah. I think I’ll post something new soon… I just need a bit of time… πŸ˜›

    ~HUGS are coming for my lovely bro!~

    Reply
  • 11. Anniyan  |  October 30, 2008 at 6:14 PM

    T

    So you managed to get Ubuntu on your system :p And naah you don’t need to shun Apple.

    I am not shunning Apple at all. In fact I am tempted to use it all the more. πŸ™‚

    As for screen and graphics setting run this application in terminal:
    gksu displayconfig-gtk

    Thanks dude. I haven’t tried it. But I sure will. πŸ™‚

    linuxowns

    You can take screenshots with the gimp, those will capture everything, menus included.

    Wow. I didn’t know that. πŸ™‚ Thanks! πŸ™‚ That’s one more victory for the warrior. πŸ˜€

    smallstar

    eheh… Yeah. I think I’ll post something new soon… I just need a bit of time…

    I am waiting. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 12. Dinesh Babu  |  October 30, 2008 at 6:59 PM

    I’ve heard good things about Ubuntu, although I dont plan on using it in the near future. Seems like you’ve had fun with it and the Apple Dock icons are cool!

    Reply
  • 13. Den Relojo  |  October 30, 2008 at 7:17 PM

    Sometimes those petty technical troubles with my PC would also dampen my mood to write a post on my blog. But it’s great that somehow it has reinforced you into writing this post.

    Reply
  • 14. Anniyan  |  October 30, 2008 at 9:11 PM

    Dinesh Babu

    I’ve heard good things about Ubuntu, although I dont plan on using it in the near future. Seems like you’ve had fun with it and the Apple Dock icons are cool!

    Yes I have had more fun on Ubuntu than I had on Windows loaded with games. πŸ˜€ As for you switching to Ubuntu, I guess you wouldn’t want to leave Apple and move to Linux. πŸ™‚

    Den Relojo
    Welcome to Care to take a look?.

    Sometimes those petty technical troubles with my PC would also dampen my mood to write a post on my blog. But it’s great that somehow it has reinforced you into writing this post.

    It was not always so. πŸ˜€ I had written a post earlier ranting about the inadequacies and irritation I had to put up with when I was using Windows. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 15. smallstar  |  October 31, 2008 at 12:00 AM

    @Anniyan: new post done! πŸ˜€

    Reply
  • 16. vimal  |  October 31, 2008 at 3:09 AM

    I just commented in SU’s abt Linux. Are you guys kidding me? Is Linux seriously this wonderful ? Hows it to work; user friendly? I had to choose between Linix and Vista and I chose the latter since everyone else was using it.

    Reply
  • 17. Reema  |  October 31, 2008 at 2:36 PM

    Hmm I dont have that much time to fiddle with OS so i m sticking to XP!

    Reply
  • 18. Destination Infinity  |  November 26, 2008 at 10:15 PM

    I tried to switch over to Fedora Core 9. But there is one problem I have not been able to rectify. My Outlook mails – I am not able to transport them to Thunderbird or Evolution. But trying to move work to Linux is an overhaul for a novice like me. Atleast I should use Fedora Core for blogging and other personal matters first, gain experience and then defeat Vista. What say you?

    Destination Infinity

    Reply
  • 19. Anniyan  |  November 27, 2008 at 9:30 AM

    @vimal
    I have been stupid enough to not notice your latest comments on this post. πŸ™‚ But now that I have, let me reply. πŸ™‚

    Are you guys kidding me? Is Linux seriously this wonderful ?

    If our screenshots don’t say it, then I suggest you work on one of our PCs for some time. πŸ˜€

    Hows it to work; user friendly? I had to choose between Linux and Vista and I chose the latter since everyone else was using it.

    It takes a while to get used to the interface. But once that is done, it takes you nothing but some interest to learn the new things in Linux. And mind you, there are LOTS of new things. Start using Linux with an open mind. πŸ™‚ And just because everyone wants to fall into the same well doesn’t mean even you have to also. πŸ˜€ You can try a different well. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›

    @Reema

    Hmm I dont have that much time to fiddle with OS so i m sticking to XP!

    Your choice. πŸ™‚ You have to understand something here. We open-sourcers don’t endorse any products or force others to use it. One day you WILL change. We know it. The whole world will change. πŸ™‚

    @Destination Infinity

    I tried to switch over to Fedora Core 9. But there is one problem I have not been able to rectify. My Outlook mails – I am not able to transport them to Thunderbird or Evolution. But trying to move work to Linux is an overhaul for a novice like me.

    I was a novice too. Just try the forums.I found the answer to almost all my problems with the help of forums. πŸ™‚

    Atleast I should use Fedora Core for blogging and other personal matters first, gain experience and then defeat Vista. What say you?

    That is how I started. Then I found developing platforms even for Linux. Since then, I don’t login to Windows at all. I still play Counter-Strike with my friends through Hamachi. That is probably the only reason why I use windows. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 20. [Sticky]: For newcomers « Care to take a look?  |  December 14, 2008 at 10:18 AM

    […] Day 2 of me and Ubuntu […]

    Reply
  • 21. manushi  |  December 14, 2008 at 11:26 AM

    i have never used Linux, have been using Vista these days…actually i never tried to know more abt it..but now i guess i’ll give it a shot…i usually use graphic softwares like photoshop and maya do you have any idea if it works well for them too?? ’cause though my vista has not been giving too many problems but i had to install an extra graphic card for them to work smoothly and some more RAM

    Reply
  • 22. Anniyan  |  December 14, 2008 at 1:35 PM

    manushi
    Try GIMP. It is also available for Windows. You can download it here. See for yourself. πŸ™‚ Have fun. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed