A what-tarian?

August 23, 2008 at 10:32 PM 22 comments


Now I have heard many people saying vegetarians are so annoying and non-vegetarians are so merciless. All that is bullshit! The main reason why I am writing this post is because of vimal‘s post titled: Why.. Why.. But why?? In this post, he has mentioned how he felt when a vegetarian couple behaved a little childish when he bought an egg-based dish for himself.

There are two sides which argue here. I will write about both of them in order to try and show how each other actually feels.

  1. The first is the side of the vegetarians. They ask: “Why do you people like tasting the flesh of another living being so much?”. Basically, vegetarians believe that they should not harm any living thing which has a Sentience Quotient of less than +1. Most vegetarians don’t even know why they are still vegetarians. They are confined to vegetarianism only because of their respective religions. One unacceptable thing about many vegetarians is that they literally hate non-vegetarians. I will discuss about this later.
  2. Now moving on to non-vegetarians, they say: “Man was first a non-vegetarian. You changed your ways in the middle and are trying to make us outcasts.” Now this is a very strong statement. The flesh of animals contains huge levels of protein and other nutrients. I hear the taste is also exceptionally good. Meat, in any form is good for you and can be taken without any guilt.

Now coming to the discussion, I would like to make it clear that I myself am a vegetarian. The reason I do not like meat is because of the smell. I also feel any living being which has a high enough Sentience Quotient should not be killed just for the sake of eating its meat. It disturbs me sometimes when I think of all these poultry chicken which are born just to die and be food for another person. They do not do anything else in their lives.

How would you feel if someone told you that you were born just to die after some months to be food to someone else? I personally don’t have anything against non-vegetarians. A person has every right to choose what type of food he/she wishes to eat. Basing your impression of a person just on his food habits is irrational and inhuman.

I wish to conclude by saying; people can choose what they want to eat. That is entirely their decision. I am hoping that it would change someday. I am not pressuring anybody to change their ways just because I said so. I am just saying vegetarians and non-vegetarians don’t have any other differences between them. Don’t hurt anyone’s feelings knowingly. That is all folks. Comments are welcome.

PS: 2K hits as of now. πŸ™‚ I don’t know why, but nowadays I am very much worried about stats. Anyway, I am happy that more and more people are reading my blog and hopefully enjoying it. πŸ™‚

Entry filed under: food, society. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Nice blog. You are appointed! Family Values: Where do they sell THAT?

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. autocarsinsurance » Blog Archive » A what-tarian?  |  August 23, 2008 at 10:34 PM

    […] Original post by Anniyan […]

    Reply
  • 2. Dinesh Babu  |  August 23, 2008 at 11:27 PM

    Some people choose to be vegetarian in order to be environment friendly. But I agree with you that we shouldnt judge people by what they eat. I am a non veggie but I eat only Chicken and egg as the non veg component and that too only on Sundays. I dont like the smell or sight of other kinds of meat. As for Fish, I consider them as an example of a possibility of life in Water, so ecologically speaking I cannot eat them, however taste they can bring. I consider Fish to be beautiful creatures. I guess I was your 2000th visitor, it turned 2000 when i visited. Dont focus too much on the stats, coz one day you will have 200 hits and the other day you will have only 50 and you will keep wondering why. As long as people are reading your post and commenting on it, that’s all you need.

    Reply
  • 3. vimal  |  August 24, 2008 at 3:11 AM

    heyy, thanks for the mention…

    Like dinesh, chicken and eggs are the only ones I have, I really cant stand the smell of the rest. But then too, I always prefer veg to non veg, jus becuz it stays easy on ur stomach πŸ™‚

    But u know what, my angst against those irritating vegetarians is that they could have milk that also comes from an animal, but condemn people who eat the same animals meat; in the former, you dont have to kill the animal !!!

    There is a separate section of people who are called ‘Vegans’ and they dont use any byproduct from animals, including milk, fur or silk !!!

    Btw congrats on ur 2k hits, the first time I came in to ur blog, I was the 1000th visitor πŸ˜€

    Reply
  • 4. Nikhil  |  August 24, 2008 at 11:03 AM

    For me, if its edible, it’s food!!!!
    I do not care if its an octopus or a root!! πŸ˜€
    Come on! Food’s food after all! Don’t bring religion into it! πŸ˜€

    Reply
  • 5. Anniyan  |  August 24, 2008 at 1:46 PM

    @vimal
    I am very much aware of Vegans. I am trying to be one myself. But it is very tough to be so. Nice coincidence of you being here at 1K and 2K hits huh? πŸ™‚

    @Dinesh Babu
    I am very much satisfied knowing that people are reading my blog. But in a corner of my heart, I keep looking at stats. But I will not let it get in the way of keeping the content good enough. πŸ™‚

    @Nikhil
    Ewww! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜› But you can’t deny the fact that more than half the people in India or any other place do not eat meat because their religion does not allow it. πŸ™‚ Peace brother! πŸ˜€

    Reply
  • 6. mystiquedew  |  August 24, 2008 at 2:43 PM

    I got no problems with non-vegies….I also have no clue why I am vegie…

    So wot category do i fall into ? …gagagaga

    Reply
  • 7. Nikhil  |  August 24, 2008 at 7:20 PM

    Food!! Gimme Food!! πŸ˜€

    Reply
  • 8. Su  |  August 24, 2008 at 8:23 PM

    I am a traitor to my caste (not religion). But, do i care? I was not dragged into Non-veg-ism nor am i being forced to be one. I’m just enjoying my right to food. πŸ˜€ As for people who show some out-of-the-world attitude towards pure non-veggies or my kinda ppl, balls to them! (boli maklu… nemdiyaagi thinnakku bidalla… drushti haakthaare πŸ˜› πŸ˜€ )

    Reply
  • 9. mag  |  August 24, 2008 at 10:29 PM

    I have to agree with Su……… but how does it bother to anyone to interfere in one’s food habits?

    is the person going to digest the food that some one else eats (or excrete the same???)

    Reply
  • 10. Hungry Scruples « Sterex  |  August 24, 2008 at 11:00 PM

    […] will be a green discussion topic. Anways, this post comes as a reply to Pavan’s post – AΒ what-tarian?, which happens to be a reply to another post by Vimal. (I kinda like these linked posts! […]

    Reply
  • 11. arvind  |  August 25, 2008 at 2:29 AM

    my family consists of pure vegetarians .. we are Brahmin’s πŸ˜› .. they run even on the sight of non veg hotel 😦
    i am the odd one out.. i eat whatever i like… no one can stop me from eating something thats edible and that can lure my taste buds ..

    dont worry about stats.. i am soon going to make post on “how to increase ur no of visitors ”
    πŸ˜›

    Reply
  • 12. Anniyan  |  August 25, 2008 at 9:06 AM

    @mystique
    I guess you fall into the “I don’t know why i am a veggie” category. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    @Nikhil
    Why don’t you try it at Nandini or Muniyandi Vilas? SU says its pretty good. πŸ˜€

    @SU
    Dude, I don’t have anything against people who eat non-veg. If they find it good they can go ahead with it. And your attitude is right about people who act funny at the mention of non-veg stuff. πŸ™‚

    @MAG
    Noce analogy. What if that actually happened? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Just a creepy imagination. don’t mind it. πŸ˜€

    @arvind
    I am a Brahmin too. i cannot advice you in this matter. My dad keeps saying: “Brahmins have got ruined nowadays! They eat and do anything and everything!” I don’t want to argue with my dad in this matter. He is of the older generation and I don’t expect him to understand the working of people’s minds. and I am waiting for your post. πŸ˜€ πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 13. apoorva  |  August 26, 2008 at 5:17 PM

    FIRSTLY CONGRATS ON UR 2000 HITS……
    well…even am vegetarian…but am totally not against people eating non-veg….its entirely their wish…
    all of us do drink milk,which is a product of animal…n milk products like buteer,ghee cheese have become almost like a must ingredient now a days…n even cakes in which eggs r used to prepare….all these will raise a question in my mind…ARE WE PURE VEGETARIANS???hmmmm…. i dont think so…
    so its better not to differentiate people based on this category atleast…

    Reply
  • 14. Anniyan  |  August 28, 2008 at 9:13 AM

    @Apoorva
    Thank you. Differentiation of people is based on all categories possible. I know its very depressing. But nothing can be done about it.

    Reply
  • 15. smallstar  |  August 29, 2008 at 7:58 PM

    Hi!! How are you? πŸ™‚ *HUGS*

    Reply
  • 16. Anniyan  |  August 29, 2008 at 8:17 PM

    @Smallstar
    Hey!!! Long time. πŸ™‚ I’m ok. πŸ™‚ How about you?

    Reply
  • 17. smallstar  |  September 7, 2008 at 5:13 AM

    @Anniyan: LOL I am answering just A BIT belated… πŸ˜€ however… I am fine, thank you. πŸ™‚ *lots of hugs, brother! πŸ˜‰ *

    Reply
  • 18. T  |  September 25, 2008 at 3:12 AM

    I don’t hate non veggies :p

    Its feel so good to save someone than to roast it for the taste of tongue. Infact animals have more compassion and caring than us. I could post some links here about the intelligence of animals in some real life incidents, but that will be tiresome at this moment of night.

    There are other health related reasons and environmental concerns too, if one try to dig deeper into.Anyway….

    I enjoyed reading your posts πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 19. Anniyan  |  September 25, 2008 at 6:24 PM

    @T
    Thank you. πŸ™‚ Glad to know my readers like it. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 20. Reets  |  September 27, 2008 at 2:49 PM

    Nice one… I am a vegetarian by choice. Stopped Non veg around 12 years back, The point is once we stop having non veg, teh strong smell of it just puts us off. Vegan is a nice option, almost planning to become one,!!!!

    Reply
  • 21. Anniyan  |  September 27, 2008 at 5:49 PM

    @Reets
    Nice to know that people are converting from non-vegetarians to vegans. And good thought of becoming a vegan. I will be joining you soon. πŸ™‚ I am now a vegetarian. But I still wear silk.

    Reply
  • 22. [Sticky]: For newcomers « Care to take a look?  |  December 12, 2008 at 5:12 PM

    […] A what-tarian? […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



