Family Values: Where do they sell THAT?

August 30, 2008 at 8:13 PM 28 comments


Unfortunately my friends, it is not a new thing on the market or a newer TV series. Let me tell you about myself a little first. Don’t worry, only a little πŸ™‚ . I live in Bangalore, Karnataka, India with my parents. My brother on the other hand, shifted to Chennai a few months back for career reasons. My parents are almost always talking about them (viz. my bro, sister-in-law and their 2.5 year old kid). This set me thinking.

Since we live in India, I have very little idea about what actually happens in other countries. But I am here to talk about India and not other countries. What is a Family? A family according to me, can be a group of people who form a bond and a closely knit colony. Family need not just refer to people who are related by blood. Even a group of friends can live as a family.

But nowadays in the fast paced IT enabled and money-driven world, not many people want to live as a family. Yes, it is true. There are still many families which inculcate family values in children from a very young age itself. Now why am I talking about families? Just because I want everyone to realize that families are the only bonds that keep you going when you are down and depressed. In today’s time, nobody has any time to devote to their families. Hence weakening the bonds that exist between them.

Whatever it is that you want to do, you can do it with the consent of your family. If they refuse, convince them that this will make you happy. They are worried about your happiness too. So don’t just rush decisions. Take time out of your busy work schedule to devote it to your family. They care about you. Don’t you think you should return the favor? If not, Do not pay any attention to this post and please carry on with whatever it is that you were doing. Sorry for wasting your time.

For others who thought on my lines, good going. Enjoy your life. Respect your family.

Entry filed under: family, society, Work. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

A what-tarian? Ripples on the surface.

28 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dinesh Babu  |  August 30, 2008 at 8:23 PM

    Yes. to me family comes first in front of everything. family makes u feel good abt a lot of things. it is fun and it doesn’t matter which country or culture u belong to.good post.

    Reply
  • 2. apoorva  |  August 30, 2008 at 8:50 PM

    exactly…people have almost forgotten their families …they r busy in making money…some people hardly spend their time with family which is very bad….TIME is best thing u can give to ur loved ones… its very bad tat people r forgetting family values…hope they will realise it soon….

    good effort pavan….nice post

    Reply
  • 3. jai  |  August 30, 2008 at 10:41 PM

    wonderful post. it is really worth and most essential in today’s rushing world. I liked it. this is especially for youngsters who have so many distractions around them. Excellent theme. Keep it up Anniyan!!!

    Reply
  • 4. mag  |  August 30, 2008 at 10:51 PM

    hey…… I did not know you are also capable of posting such topics. I have to agree that family is the one thing that is there i everyone’s mind. what ever we earn in our lives eventually goes in spending for the family.

    As a matter of fact, people forget that they willingly or unwillingly spend a lot of their time, effort and money for the one thing in life, which is family………

    but the world is at such a fast pace that you hardly get time to notice the same. people even tend to miss out very important things in life.

    Like hearing their kid say the first few words…….. and many more…… countless….

    It is generally difficult to pace your life based on both professional and personal aspects. But typically people at the senior levels have their priorities right. but the time would obviously have run out for them,

    Guys, you all spend time unknowingly, but try to make it a meaningful time in your lives.

    Reply
  • 5. Oxy  |  August 31, 2008 at 4:38 AM

    My immediate family is spread in 4 cities. And of late I feel the far you are from family more attached you feel with them. No matter how much cliched ‘Blood is thicker than water’ gets, It will always be true.

    Reply
  • 6. Nikhil  |  August 31, 2008 at 8:28 AM

    Hmmm… this may not be true with everyone… parents and children may fight and part ways due to a lot of issues and not always do they understand each other… they attribute it all to ‘generation gaps’ and unfortunately neither is patient enough to make the other understand… Hehehe.. Nice post! Makes one think! πŸ˜€

    Reply
  • 7. arvind  |  September 1, 2008 at 2:00 PM

    nice post…
    well ,family is indeed the only bond that supoorts us when we are down.

    but i just read a post in sakhi’s blog about how insensitive relatives could be in a family ..
    may be u would like to read that

    Reply
  • 8. Su  |  September 2, 2008 at 12:32 AM

    You cant afford to miss deliberately, the only souls who will think of your overall well being. If it was forced upon you due to reasons best left untold, keep the love in your heart and hope that a favourable destiny awaits you shortly.

    Reply
  • 9. Anniyan  |  September 2, 2008 at 7:44 AM

    Very sorry for the late reply. I was not well and therefore could not reply to your valuable comments.

    @Dinesh Babu
    Very true. Family does make you feel good about a lot of things. Stick together and you will see wonders.

    @apoorva
    Wow! Nice one. “Time is the best thing you can give your loved ones.” πŸ™‚

    @jai
    Nice to have you commenting on my blog. πŸ™‚

    @mag
    I understand that we tend to miss some of the most important moments in our life. But what I did not understand was that you mentioned something about pacing ourselves. Can you explain a little bit?

    @Oxy
    I agree! I agree! πŸ™‚

    @Nikhil
    Basically generation gaps occur when one person (presumably the child), is not able to make the other understand(apparently the father).

    @arvind
    Oh I surely will. πŸ™‚ Even I have had instances about heartless relatives. But please go through my post again and see how I have defined family. πŸ™‚

    @Su
    Whoa! What is THAT supposed to mean?

    Reply
  • 10. MAG  |  September 2, 2008 at 5:17 PM

    Pacing yourself is the balance that you can find between your personal life and professional life. The balance is always tilting towards the Professional. Naturally cos of the importance we give to our careers.

    Hope this answers your query…….

    Reply
  • 11. vimal  |  September 3, 2008 at 8:02 PM

    A beautiful post, and the beauty lies in the very word “family”.

    Like all mallus, I left my family once to work in Dubai. But came back in 6 months. The thought that I left my dad and mom to fight with their old age all alone was suffocating me. All those years they took care of me, and when it was my turn, I just left thinking only about me. When my dad came to see me off, I felt as if his eyes spoke” What do we do now?”. Couldnt tolerate all this, why live in that way when no one is happy !

    Right now, I cant say Im with them, but im very much near them and I consider myself to be one of the happiest person on earth.

    Reply
  • 12. sandhya bhargav  |  September 5, 2008 at 11:48 PM

    good one pavan…………
    family is first everything else is next!

    Reply
  • 13. smallstar  |  September 7, 2008 at 5:22 AM

    @Anniyan: awww nice and wonderful post, buddy!! I star saying that I’m not in the situation to love my family. I just appreciate a few of people in it. But I must also say that you are absolutely right about the fact that family sometimes can be a lot helpful if we really need it. πŸ™‚ *hugs*

    Reply
  • 14. mystiquedew  |  September 7, 2008 at 12:20 PM

    Ok! I’ll not pay any attention and keep going πŸ˜€ :D:D

    have a family dinner to get to..:D

    Reply
  • 15. Anniyan  |  September 7, 2008 at 12:32 PM

    @MAG
    It does…

    @vimal
    Nice to hear that. Sorry for the late reply. I was busy with my project.

    @sandhya
    Welcome to “Care to take a look?“. πŸ™‚ Very true.

    @smallstar
    Not in the situation to love your family? Well that’s sad. But hope you get back together again. πŸ™‚ *HUGS*

    @mystiquedew
    Hmm. Carry on then. πŸ˜€

    Reply
  • 16. smallstar  |  September 7, 2008 at 4:15 PM

    @Anniyan: I consider that a lot difficult… But who knows? πŸ˜‰ *lots of kisses*

    Reply
  • 17. Bhargava Hukunda  |  September 11, 2008 at 9:46 AM

    PAVAN … the first thought that came to my mind after reading this post is ‘nuclear family’…. dont go by the dictionary meaning of this word ..but my very first interpretation of this word ‘NUCLEAR’ was that this is a ‘CLOSELY’ knit family where everyone lives in harmony …… little did I realise (or may be realized much later !!) that this has a totally different meaning to it …..

    being a ‘NUCLEAR family’ we are missing that we need to be still to our roots …..
    keep writing ….. you bring out a different perspective to things …:-)

    Reply
  • 18. Anniyan  |  September 13, 2008 at 11:19 AM

    @smallstar
    I still hope you get back with your family. How is the situation now? Hope it’s better? πŸ™‚
    *HUGS*

    @Bhargav
    Nice. This is the first time I have heard that word. And I referred it up in the dictionary and yes, it means something quite different. But your description is also pretty good. πŸ™‚ I just had a new thought. Look for it in the Thoughts page.

    Reply
  • 19. smallstar  |  September 13, 2008 at 3:23 PM

    Yeah it’s better, thanks. *HUGS/KISSES*

    Reply
  • 20. Anniyan  |  September 13, 2008 at 11:04 PM

    @Smallstar
    Nice to hear that. πŸ™‚ Let me remind you that you have a family member in India too – ME! πŸ™‚
    *HUGS, SIS*

    Reply
  • 21. smallstar  |  September 14, 2008 at 6:10 AM

    Eheh you are my favourite family member!! You are my lovely and dear brother! πŸ™‚ mmh I guess I should come in India to see you, don’t I? πŸ˜›

    * LOVING HUGS*

    Reply
  • 22. Reets  |  September 25, 2008 at 8:57 PM

    Hey Pavan

    This one is really true,when we have our family around , mebbe at times we feel we should venture on our own and u know kinda learn to be independent and all that, but once we are away from them we realise their value.Till I did my MBA I was wid my parents , when we have them with us we tend to kind of take them for granted,and once i went away to Chennai to work, I realised the value of my family.True, that at times, we realise the value of certain things and relations in life once we are away from it.Then When I went to Bangalore again to work, I realised how lonely I was, U may have friends around, but at the end of the day having parents around makes all the difference, now since I am Back with them, I am leading a much more relaxed , free and Happy life… Family values are inculcated in our early childhood itself and we carry it wid us till our last breath!!

    Reply
  • 23. Anniyan  |  September 25, 2008 at 9:29 PM

    @Reets
    Good to know that you are back with your family. The worst part nowadays is that many people don’t even miss their parents to think about them. It is actually very disturbing to think of.

    Reply
  • […] Taking a Stand- ING Vysya Life Insurance Commercial Author: Laksh Duties of a Teacher Author: Reema Family Values-Where Do They Sell That? Author: […]

    Reply
  • 25. Destination Infinity  |  October 16, 2008 at 8:39 PM

    Interesting post…. It is heart breaking to see so many parents whose children have left to the US or some other country and have forgotten about their parents. Ofcourse, they come here like a picnic and take their parents there once in a while, but still that doesn’t make up for the loneliness elders feel. Ironically, it is the elders who encourage the younger ones to go abroad and ‘settle’ there…. and more ironically, most of the settled ‘younger ones’ do not bother to call their parents to the land of freedom permanently!!

    Destination Infinity

    Reply
  • 26. Anniyan  |  October 17, 2008 at 9:26 AM

    @Destination Infinity
    You are absolutely right. The parents themselves send their children abroad and want them to settle there. But the sad part is that these children don’t even want to keep in touch with their parents once in a while. The children might actually make their parents overjoyed by even just calling them up twice a week.

    Reply
  • 27. Final List of Nominated Posts « Visceral Observations  |  October 23, 2008 at 10:18 AM

    […] Responsibility Author: Harsha Taking a Stand- ING Vysya Life Insurance Commercial Author: Laksh Family Values-Where Do They Sell That? Author: Pavan To Sir, With Hatred Author: Meghana Connecting the Banglore International Airport […]

    Reply
  • 28. [Sticky]: For newcomers « Care to take a look?  |  December 12, 2008 at 5:45 PM

    […] Family Values: Where do they sell THAT? […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



