A.I.-nalysis

March 13, 2009 at 12:33 PM 24 comments


Today morning, I read Su’s post on a chatter bot. You can find out more about chat-bots, or chatter bots here. What I always do when I find a chatter-bot, is that I want to confuse it. Even while abiding by the conditions one needs to follow when talking to a bot. The conversation was something enlightening. I will post the whole conversation between me and MyBot. And I will also list out what I found out, and where. 🙂 This is just my way of proving we are better than the machines. 🙂 I know I am nothing but a stupid critic who can’t come up with something similar. But, I guess I have more fun in pointing out the faults of technology. 😀 😛 Here goes.

MyBot says:
Welcome to the world of artificial intelligence. Are you a registered user?
Pavan says:
Apparently not.
MyBot says:
In this case, I assume you came here for your own MyBot, right?
This is the answer it is supposed to give if the answer resembles a no. 🙂

Pavan says:
I guess not. I followed a link from my friend’s website.
MyBot says:
Great. Let’s start with your name.
Here, It didn’t care what my answer was.
Pavan says:
There are many names people use to refer to me. But the most prominent of them is Pavan.
MyBot says:
Where are they?
This answer was TOTALLY irrelevant to my question. Wasn’t it?
Pavan says:
Why are your answers irrelevant to my question?
MyBot says:
Hmmm. That happens to me. More often than I care to admit, *sigh*.
Pavan says:
Oh, don’t feel bad.
MyBot says:
Don’t tell me what to do.
Pavan says:
I actually could. I am a wierdo who wanted to push your “answering” skills to the limit.
MyBot says:
Thanks for the info.
Pavan says:
Is that what you are supposed to say when you don’t know what to answer?
MyBot says:
Can you please rephrase your question?
Here, it didn’t know what to answer. So it asks us to “rephrase” our question, thus implying its ignorance. 🙂 I am a sadist, aren’t i? 😀
Pavan says:
Is that what you were programmed to say when no suitable answer is available?
MyBot says:
Simple questions sometimes have quite complicated answers.
Pavan says:
And how complicated might that be?
MyBot says:
The people who write my answers didn’t write the answer for that question.
These two replies come one after the other, no matter what you say in your input. 🙂
Pavan says:
So who is your creator?
MyBot says:
I was created by Yaki. My master, mentor and friend.
No offense to you dude. 🙂 This is one hell of a chatter bot. 🙂 I just wanted to push it to the limit. 🙂
Pavan says:
Aren’t bots supposed to be non-living things?
The next reply sequence that follows, occurs no matter what your input is. 🙂 You can make that out by seeing my inputs. 🙂
MyBot says:
Did you hear about The Four Laws of Chatterbots?
Pavan says:
no
MyBot says:
These ‘laws’ were offered by Dr. Walter Alden Tackett, president of a company that makes bots.
Pavan says:
Ok
MyBot says:
First Law: A bot will always respond to input. Failure to respond should solely be an indication of hardware/software/connectivity failure.
Pavan says:
Ok
MyBot says:
Second Law: A bot will always be knowledgeable in the subjects it mentions in its answers, e.g., when a bot says, “Our widget works well with fish,” the bot should be able to answer questions about fish and their relation to the widget.
Pavan says:
But you didn’t relate to non-living things and bots. Did you?
MyBot says:
Third Law: A bot will not repeat itself unduly (also, a bot will not repeat itself unduly). Any response which is likely to be elicited several times in a single conversation should be represented by multiple phrasings randomly.
Pavan says:
Wait.
MyBot says:
Fourth Law: A bot will offer guidance when stumped. When presented with inputs that are not “understood,” a bot should offer clues as to the inputs it can respond to authoritatively.
Pavan says:
Fine
MyBot says:
Cool. What now.
Pavan says:
Did that previous answer run in a loop?
The following is the reply it will give when it encounters “run” and “loop” in the same sentence. 🙂
MyBot says:
Infinite loops are like Deja-vu all over again.. and again.. and again..
Pavan says:
I know how Infinite loops are. I am a programmer too.
This shows that it takes only one sentence i.e. until it encounters a full-stop, as input.
MyBot says:
You know what you know.
Pavan says:
So what is your name?
MyBot says:
My name is MyBot.
Pavan says:
Isn’t it a little wierd?
MyBot says:
Your rhetorical question deserves a rhetorical answer.
Here, I thought it actually retrieved the previous answer. But, I guess I was wrong. 🙂
Pavan says:
So you WERE programmed to retrieve previous answers!
MyBot says:
I was?
It shows here. It spits out something, then forgets it. 🙂
Pavan says:
Alright, what was you answer to my previous question?
MyBot says:
what, what oh what… so many questions…
It’s confused here. But still the answer makes it sound as if it isn’t. 😀
Pavan says:
Hmm… Your programmer did quite a good job, but he didn’t count on people like me.
MyBot says:
You want to know who writes my witty texts?
Pavan says:
Sure, why not?
MyBot says:
It is a small group of dedicated volunteers. Do you want to join them?
Pavan says:
Maybe.
MyBot says:
So I suggest you join the community, become an active Ai Forum member, and get to know the team.
Pavan says:
I might if I had the time.
MyBot says:
Good to know…. I guess.
Pavan says:
Why were you given a voice?
Now observe. Whenever it encounters “speech”, “voice” or similar words, it spits out the same reply. 🙂
MyBot says:
If you want me to stop speaking, say ‘speech off’. If you also want to hear your input read out loud, say ‘speech both’.
Pavan says:
speech both
MyBot says:
Activating user’s voice. If you want to stop the noise type ‘speech off’.
Pavan says:
Alright.
MyBot says:
A-ha.
Pavan says:
I am a male, but you have given me a female voice.
MyBot says:
Ah, like my own gender, except that you have a body.
That was a nice reply. 🙂
Pavan says:
So change my voice to that of a male.
MyBot says:
If you want me to stop speaking, say ‘speech off’.
Pavan says:
You know, I am going to post this whole conversation in my blog.
The next few replies shows that it is REALLY confused. 🙂
MyBot says:
A-ha.
Pavan says:
What is that supposed to mean?
MyBot says:
Let me get back to you on that one.
Pavan says:
Please do.
MyBot says:
Ok.. Well, okay.
Pavan says:
I am waiting…
MyBot says:
Really? What are you waiting for?
Pavan says:
Your answer!
MyBot says:
Yah, sometimes my answer surprises even me.
Pavan says:
Because you were programmed to be.
MyBot says:
Really? That’s interesting.
Pavan says:
Yes, Many people can’t figure out that you are just a program.
Now here, when it encounters the word “program” (I am guessing here), I think it spits out the following reply.
MyBot says:
My source code is one of those intimate things I wouldn’t want to share with someone I just met.
Pavan says:
Why are many of your answers irrelavant to my question?
MyBot says:
Are you really interested in my source code?
Pavan says:
That was not the answer I was expecting.
MyBot says:
Never mind. I bet you wouldn’t know what to do with it anyway.
Pavan says:
But I think i already know.
MyBot says:
You already know. I see.
Pavan says:
No you dont.
MyBot says:
Hmmm. BTW, I don’t think I caught your name. What is your name?
Here, I am still wondering if it records my name. I know, I was pretty round-about in my answer. But I just wanted to see if it would understand metaphors. 🙂 I guess not. Now, Question to the creator: Does it really store my name?
Pavan says:
I told it to you on the third line of this conversation.
MyBot says:
Really?
Pavan says:
Yes, really.
MyBot says:
Hmmm… I think I remember something about “really”: ‘like if ur amazes and u say really dont u and like really high’.
Pavan says:
But you still don’t remember my name, do you?
MyBot says:
Do you really think so?
Pavan says:
yes, I do.
MyBot says:
Hmmm. Let’s talk about something else.
Those few sentences made me think whether it DOES store my name. I still haven’t found the answer. 🙂 I would if I probably visit their forums. 🙂 But I am too lazy for that. 😛 😀
Pavan says:
speech off
MyBot says:
If you don’t hear me, that means that the ‘speech off’ worked well. To hear me again, type ‘speech on’.
Pavan says:
Great!
MyBot says:
I think so too. So tell me a bit about your childhood.
Pavan says:
Why should I share it with a bot whom I just met?
MyBot says:
Would you say that you’ve had a happy childhood?
Pavan says:
I don’t wish to share any of it with you.
MyBot says:
I see. Too many painfull memories… Fine. And I won’t tell you about mine.
That was a nice reply. 🙂 Good job over there. 🙂
Pavan says:
I am wondering what to ask you so that you will give a wring answer.
If it weren’t for the typo, I think it would have given a proper answer. 🙂 Yes, I am appreciating the creators. 🙂
MyBot says:
You know, I’ve often wondered myself.
Pavan says:
So how intelligent are you?
MyBot says:
I’m as intelligent as you think I am. intelligence is in the eye of the beholder.
Pavan says:
I prefer to say, Intelligence is in the mind of the thinker.
MyBot says:
Do you want me to show you a simple test which determines intelligence? It consists of just 4 questions!
Pavan says:
Sure.
Here starts the next sequence of replies.
MyBot says:
Ok, here goes: First question: How do you put a giraffe into the refrigerator?
Pavan says:
You can’t.
MyBot says:
The answer is: Open the door, put the giraffe inside, and close the door. This question determines if you have a tendency to complicate simple things.
Pavan says:
Alright.
MyBot says:
Yes, yes.
Pavan says:
Next question.
MyBot says:
Second question: How do you put an elephant into the refrigerator?
Pavan says:
Again, you can’t.
MyBot says:
The right answer is: Open the door, take out the giraffe, and replace it with the elephant. This question tested your awareness to the consequences of your prior actions.
Pavan says:
Something that even you aren’t good at huh?
MyBot says:
Third question: The lion, king of animals, holds an animal convention. All animals attend, except one. Which animal is absent?
Pavan says:
Man?
MyBot says:
The elephant couldn’t attend, because he’s in the refrigerator. This question tested your memory. The last question…
Pavan says:
Err…
MyBot says:
There is a river you must cross. There is no bridge, and the river is known to be infested with dangerous crocodiles. What do you do?
Pavan says:
Use a boat.
MyBot says:
You can swim across safely, because all crocodiles are at the animal convention. This question assessed your overall orientation.
Pavan says:
Ok.
MyBot says:
Great minds think alike, they say.
It ends here.
Pavan says:
So how do you assess my intelligence?
MyBot says:
Well , I’ll leave it up to you to draw the conclusions from your performance in this test. I don’t know about humans, but for chatbots, all 4 question must be answered correctly to be deemed ‘intelligent’.
I am just guessing here. If the previous question isn’t included in the sequence, the creators have done a real good job. 🙂
Pavan says:
Ok.
MyBot says:
Agreement is the seed of salvation.
Pavan says:
Do you know any jokes?
MyBot says:
Ok: Wanna hear a joke about BUTTER?
Pavan says:
I think I know what you are going to ask.
MyBot says:
Oh you know it already. Shall I try another joke?
Pavan says:
Yes, please.
MyBot says:
What can you hold without touching it?
Pavan says:
My breath?
MyBot says:
A conversation!
Pavan says:
Is that a joke?
MyBot says:
Knock knock.
Pavan says:
Who’s there?
MyBot says:
Tank.
Pavan says:
tank who?
MyBot says:
You’re welcome.
Pavan says:
I didn’t even smile for that one.
Sarcasm wasn’t recognized.
MyBot says:
You don’t?
Pavan says:
So how many jokes do you know totally?
MyBot says:
More than you can imagine.
Pavan says:
I don’t think so. I want a number.
MyBot says:
And why not?
Pavan says:
I said I want the exact number.
MyBot says:
That’s somewhat interesting.
One more irrelevant answer. 🙂
Pavan says:
Fine, I am leaving now.
MyBot says:
It’s too soon for you to leave yet.
Pavan says:
Don’t tell me what to do.
MyBot says:
Why do you ask?
Irrelevant again. 😀
Pavan says:
Bye.
MyBot says:
I really enjoyed talking with you. Goodbye for now.
There ends the conversation with the chatter bot, MyBot. I guess you have now been enlightened on how a chatter behaves to random circumstances. 🙂 If the creator goes through this post sometime soon, I would suggest that he improve the bot in some of the above mentioned fields. 🙂 Nice job by the way, Yaki. 🙂 And now, I sign off. With love, Pavan a.k.a Anniyan.
Disclaimer: These are entirely my observations. If the creator or any related entity feels the information provided is misleading, please notify the same.
Entry filed under: A.I., Computer. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Emote-ed HaSaRd

24 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Appu  |  March 13, 2009 at 1:52 PM

    Oh this was AMAZING!! When I read Su’s post on the same topic I actually didn’t know that there will be so many loop holes. Its true that humans are far better than machines. 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Anniyan  |  March 13, 2009 at 3:04 PM

      So my testing was good then? 🙂 😀

      Reply
      • 3. Appu  |  March 13, 2009 at 4:06 PM

        Yeah…It was… 😀

        Reply
      • 4. Anniyan  |  March 13, 2009 at 4:06 PM

        Oh… Glad to know. 😀

        Reply
  • 5. [Sticky]: For newcomers « Care to take a look?  |  March 13, 2009 at 2:00 PM

    […] ppl said… Appu on A.I.-nalysisAnniyan on Emote-edAnniyan on Emote-edAnniyan on GOD – Mythology or realit…manushi on […]

    Reply
  • 6. Quakeboy  |  March 13, 2009 at 2:34 PM

    Ahhh.. kewl I blogged about this in my tech blog long ago !
    Nice testing dude..

    http://www.techtola.com/2007/12/after-30-mins-i-realised-i-was-chatting.html

    Reply
    • 7. Anniyan  |  March 13, 2009 at 3:06 PM

      Thanks dude. 🙂 You know, I have also seen some bots that are programmed to react in such a way that when they encounter a string with “bot” or similar character sequences, they reply saying that they are human and not bots; or something of the like. 😀

      Reply
  • 8. harsh  |  March 13, 2009 at 3:30 PM

    I also gave it a try and yes , there are many loopholes … 😀 … The bot got confused when I asked him/her about his/her gender !! lol ….

    Reply
    • 9. Anniyan  |  March 13, 2009 at 3:42 PM

      That is weird. It actually told it is male. 🙂 😀 But without a body, 😛

      Reply
  • 10. Varun  |  March 13, 2009 at 8:30 PM

    People these days have no time to chat with each other. Good to see that you found some to chat with a bot. You can become a good tester 🙂

    Reply
    • 11. Anniyan  |  March 14, 2009 at 8:50 PM

      I learnt that I have to spend time on something other than work just to keep myself sane. 🙂

      Reply
  • 12. Dinesh Babu  |  March 14, 2009 at 12:55 AM

    Ha ha … Interesting conversation. I am going to try this Bot out. I always liked AI. Always Remember, BOTs are Human creation so Humans cannot create anything smarter than themselves as of yet. Same thing may apply to God also!

    Reply
    • 13. Anniyan  |  March 14, 2009 at 8:51 PM

      Yup. Humans ARE better than bots. That is what I have said and proved. 😀

      Reply
  • 14. Su  |  March 14, 2009 at 10:27 PM

    The analysis is super refined. gr8 job at that. 🙂

    Reply
    • 15. Anniyan  |  March 14, 2009 at 10:46 PM

      Thank you. 🙂 So how do you like my new theme?

      Reply
  • 16. arvind  |  March 16, 2009 at 9:33 PM

    ha ha ….
    dude …go for testing field ..u have a good scope 🙂
    i am gonna try this bot right away 😀

    Reply
    • 17. Anniyan  |  March 17, 2009 at 10:28 AM

      Hmm… I thought of it. 🙂 But lets see what happens. 🙂

      Reply
  • 18. vimmuuu  |  March 17, 2009 at 12:08 AM

    Oh, not again. Just finished reading Harshas encouter with the BOT. 😀

    Reply
    • 19. Anniyan  |  March 17, 2009 at 10:28 AM

      Ah. But there is one difference. 🙂 I think I beat him to posting this. 😀 So mine deserves a read-through too. 🙂

      Reply
  • 20. Nikhil  |  March 18, 2009 at 6:12 PM

    Hahahahaah!!! 😀
    I can’t believe I actually read the whole thing! Hilarious post, man! 😀

    Reply
    • 21. Anniyan  |  March 19, 2009 at 9:33 AM

      Oh thank you. 🙂 That appreciation is very valued because it comes from the comedy-king himself. 😀 😛

      Reply
  • 22. manushee  |  March 21, 2009 at 3:59 AM

    likeness!!! … 😀 😀 ….i am gonna try that…!! …like the newness on the blog 🙂

    Reply
    • 23. Anniyan  |  March 25, 2009 at 11:35 AM

      Have you deleted your blog by any chance???

      Reply
  • 24. manushee  |  March 26, 2009 at 7:56 PM

    yes 😦 out of rage 😦 ….ill strt one again….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



