GOD – Mythology or reality?

December 27, 2008 at 5:06 PM 57 comments


It has been a very tiring week for me up until yesterday when I finished my Chemistry examination. I am satisfied by my performance and am confident that I will pass. Now coming to the the title. That is the question on most of the people’s minds. I wanted to write this post as an answer to SU’s post. While mentioning Atheism and Theism, every religion wants to prove only that god exists. And if questioned what/who is GOD, they quarrel among themselves saying that their perception of GOD is better than the rest. Now according to me, that is like saying, “My imaginary friend is better than yours.” Now let me make something clear before moving on to the depth of the topic.

I am an Atheist!

Now that I have expressed my point of view about this topic, it would be a little better for you to understand my views even if you don’t agree with or respect them. Now coming to the topic. People whom I know might know how I converted to an Atheist at heart. But people who don’t usually ask two questions with respect to religion.

  1. What religion do you believe in? – None. I don’t believe that there is some “power” controlling the workings of the universe. In short, I am an Atheist.
  2. You weren’t born an Atheist right? What were you before you converted? – A Hindu Brahmin.(I haven’t converted legally though. Just for the sake of my loved ones.) I don’t really know even if that matters. That is because I think there is only differentiation based on species. Not on something that doesn’t even exist.

I want to accept one fact though. I did convert to Atheism very recently. Not because my troubles were too many or because I followed what another person said. I have had experience with the latter with reference to my close friend Abhilash. My mother asked me whether he told me something that made me disbelieve in GOD. The answer is NO. The first reason for my answer is that he is not someone who forces himself upon someone else. Secondly, I don’t let other people think on my behalf.

There were a series of realizations following which I accepted the truth that there is nothing governing over the goings on of the universe. I will be writing about many such realizations. So if anyone feels that this post is not worth reading further, I suggest you stop now. Moving on, there were four situations which thankfully led me to the truth. They are also inter-connected.

Praying for something all my life:

Now this might sound a lot like I thought this way only because I didn’t get what I prayed for. But I assure you it is not so. I had prayed whole heartedly to “GOD” that I somehow PASS in the examination. But that did not happen. Before you come to conclusions, I want to say that the amount of work and my paper presentation were not up to the mark. I know this because I applied for the photocopy of my answer script and analyzed it. First Realization – It was entirely dependent on me. I cannot blame anyone. To this, many of you will reply, “Only prayer will not lead you anywhere. You need to work accordingly.” To that I reply, “Even if you don’t pray, the amount of work you put in will lead you somewhere.” This is because there is no entity to listen to whatever you say to yourself.

The discussion I had with my friend Abhilash:

Now don’t be misled into thinking that he altered my mindset. I assure you. He did not. The discussion was about how god was created. He produced a very funny explanation that GOD was created because of lonely philosophers who did not have anybody to share their feelings with. To avoid this, they created an imaginary friend called GOD and made people believe that the imaginary friend was not so imaginary after all. However, I don’t believe all philosophers were loners. But I stated my view. God was created to explain the vast mysteries that nature had posed in front of us. An example would be the Aurora Borealis. The northern lights phenomenon. They said the “Valkyrie” made a trail of lights when they rode forward in the Norse mythology. And what do we call them now? Think. Realization two – GOD is a fictitious explanation to the unexplainable.

History of religions being region specific :

When I listen to the discourses given by Hindu pandits and the sermons given by the Christian pastors, I observed a pattern. How come there were no temples all over the world if god existed everywhere? And why would the apparent “GOD” in christianity protect only those that believed in him and not other religions? Last I know, Jesus was only the messenger of GOD. Anyway, that is for you Theists to decide. It is not that I do not respect the beliefs of other people. I only wish that all of you be awakened to the facts and not the myths. Realization three – GOD is not who the people claim it to be.

My performance in this semester’s examination:

This is the last situation. This situation did not exactly make me realize anything new. But I can say it played an important role in establishing the fact. This semester, I have performed very well in most of my exams. The ones I did not perform well, I can only say I hadn’t expected it would turn out that way. Which is entirely the fault of my under-preparedness. Here all of you need observe one point. I did not pray or in any other way ask a supreme being to help me. The result is as you see it now. Before I used to blame that “power” for all my mistakes. But now I found there isn’t anything that I can blame it on. Even if I did, it would be like creating a person who doesn’t even exist, in my mind and then blaming him. Final realization – Nothing controls the workings of the universe. All that happens is because of logic. There is nothing more factual than logic. An example to prove that is given in this link. Man was not created by GOD and women most definitely not from the ribs of a man.

That concludes my post on my perception of GOD. I say that the principle of GOD is myth and will always think so. I still put the Tilaka on my forehead just to make my dad, who is a very orthodox person happy. Signing off, an awakened human being, Pavan a.k.a Anniyan.

PS: This post might not convey my exact feelings as the length and the medium also matters. A phrase said in a letter can mean many things when read from different perspectives.

Note to my brother: If you happen to read this post, please don’t mention about it to mom and dad. They would feel bad if they came to know about my views of god.

Entry filed under: god, Thinking. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Do I really know you? LAMP: For the un-familiar user

57 Comments Add your own

  • 1. [Sticky]: For newcomers « Care to take a look?  |  December 27, 2008 at 5:08 PM

    […] GOD – Mythology or reality? […]

    Reply
  • 2. Abhilash  |  December 27, 2008 at 7:23 PM

    I am waiting for the subjunctives indicative of the itch/anger or the ones that partake the belief ….or wait… is that disbelief….

    Reply
  • 3. Su  |  December 27, 2008 at 8:09 PM

    firstly, fantastic effort! If i say u beat yourself in explaining the concept against all your previous ventures, it’d be an under-statement.

    The war between GOD and Science has acquired a new support – Logic vs Belief and/or Proof vs Intuition.

    Few can deny the proofs, coz they aren’t mere beliefs. But, a belief is your choice. A Theist and an Atheist both make their choices, based on beliefs only. The former believes intuition. The latter, the proof. By this it is easy to conclude Theists are a bigger bunch and a fools bunch at that. Isn’t it?

    If belief was an ocean plagued by storms, based on which life is led, GOD is assumed/perceived/believed/thought to be a light house.

    It is human nature to explore the unknowns caring a damn for a possibility of mishap. It is the spirit of adventure, and I’m well into it. When the adventure in the ocean goes hay-wire, and beliefs seem to over-whelm you by the virtue of their truthful nature, and confusion arises from the complexity of Truth/Proof/Logic, The Light House is a promise of simplicity, leading one to a peaceful state of mind.

    Now, u’ve choices. Find solace in the ocean, or in the light house. I dunno what u’d do. But, I’ll go into the ocean for further adventure, with the strength of Hope, the light house offers. After all, anything in the ocean which tells you that you’re somewhere and are not lost, is as good as a light house. and Hope fuels you again.

    GOD is not materialistic. He doesn’t exist physically. Only the concept is playing with mankind. It is only a belief, but one which leads to a state of mind with a promise of inner peace and hence drives a Man with Hope in life.

    Now, how does it matter if u’ve Hope or not? Everything you do is your responsibility right? Yes, it is. But an optimist thinks differently from a pessimist. Hope triggers flow of strength and positive thoughts and therefore, is boundless. Pessimism restricts positive thought flow. To know the importance of this, just try to think about a few important things in each of the state of minds, and see if u find a difference.

    (simulate your brain once as an optimistic piece and once as a pessimistic one and execute the scenario. Note down the observation, and keep the result with yourself. You’re asked to do this just as an exercise, and not to prove anything to anybody.)

    PS : Having Hope beyond realistic bounds is insanity and do not consider that for logical reasons. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  • 4. Who is GOD? « Su  |  December 27, 2008 at 8:35 PM

    […] content. However, I’m happier even, that Pavan has come out with his views as well in a post. Care about an ATHEIST’s view? Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)No […]

    Reply
  • 5. smallstar  |  December 27, 2008 at 8:38 PM

    I don’t believe in God. I think he’s just a creation of our minds. 😐

    Reply
  • 6. !!*!!  |  December 27, 2008 at 9:36 PM

    i dont know what to say.

    ur reply would be “then why do u comment?”..right??

    hmm..well u r able to express and voice out ur feelings and opinions well..

    Reply
  • 7. Anniyan  |  December 27, 2008 at 9:54 PM

    Abhilash
    Dude, people will keep believing that there something greater than everything until they can explain all the mysteries. Which seems very unlikely. πŸ™‚

    Su
    And your comment is not as big as a post? I took 3 minutes to read and understand your comment! πŸ˜› But let me tell you one thing. The light house, in your description, exists. But GOD doesn’t. And about me wanting to go into the sea for adventure, I definitely would. But adventure and the belief that something is watching out for us or governing us when it isn’t, is stupidity. Sorry if I am not as diplomatic as you. But when I started reading the comment itself I could make out you were going to bring up an imaginary situation.:)
    But one thing though. The adventure in your situation, can be very dangerous. If you think the light house will help you out at the middle of the ocean, you are terribly wrong. And I did not get the logic behind the experiment.

    Reply
  • 8. Anniyan  |  December 27, 2008 at 9:57 PM

    smallstar
    Honey, it is really nice to find an Atheist in the midst of a whole bunch of believers of “nothingness”. πŸ™‚

    !!*!!
    Yes that would have been my reply. Thank you. I take that as a compliment. πŸ™‚ You can express your views too if you want to.

    Reply
  • 9. smallstar  |  December 27, 2008 at 10:09 PM

    @Anniyan: thanks, I know it! And I am proud of myself, too! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜›

    Reply
  • 10. Abhilash  |  December 28, 2008 at 12:50 AM

    @ Su
    Dint have the patience to read another post…. oh sorry,it was a comment. just read a couple of paras. anyways, belief isn’t an ocean. it is a whirlpool. the more u get sucked in, the more are your chances of getting ashore. u just cant get the hell outta it.
    Hey! take this as an analogy. Belief in god and such “things” show the dysgraphia- inability to write coherently. and so, the pool/ocean you mentioned is a maze. Since people think that finding an orifice in a maze is really tough, they tend to wander off and start living in the maze. so is the belief in god. there are several things that cant be proved/disproved logically so, comes the concept of a three letter word. GOD.
    Whats dysgraphia gotta do with this?? well, dont take the exact literal sense, its no brain symptom. But its the human nature. or maybe its the classified human called “Blind belief oriented-ignorant” Human. In a maze when one cant figure out the opening, one gets used to it. so, wen there is not explanation to anything, call it Gods miracle.
    Hey! it was just a few hundred years ago that >Humans/Philosophers called lighting as the anger of god.
    >some 900 years ago that epilepsy was called curse of the God.
    >and valkyrie… already explained.
    Science is a part of evolution, although not exactly as such stated by Darwin. A few more years down the timeline, your grandkids might one day, sitting on a recliner might think, oh man! my grandad was the last breed of the theists.
    Writing this long, i can say, hey, i too was idiotic to write a comment as long as the post. but it suits to be the reply of one SU.

    Reply
  • 11. Abhilash  |  December 28, 2008 at 12:51 AM

    ** reply to SU

    Reply
  • 12. Amitabh  |  December 28, 2008 at 4:19 AM

    Most rational people fall for the concept of God owing to what I call the Pascal effect. Pascal, the great mathematician turned to god in his old age. So much so that he gave up rationality altogether. But not before logically proving that god exists. His logic went like this: It is better to believe in god because to believe in god is good for you with a probability of 3/4 (Pascal invented probability along with Fermat so I am not surprised he chose probability to prove god’s existence). Pascal said that if god does not exist, believing or not believing does not matter. But if he does, you better believe.

    My opinion: by believing in god, we transfer a part of our responsibility to god. Which just goes to show that most of us are escapists. By not believing we take complete responsibility of what we do. That in the long run is good for the (wo)mankind.

    To read more, click on my name to take you to my blog entry on the idea of god.

    Cheers!

    Reply
  • 13. smallstar  |  December 28, 2008 at 7:48 AM

    I’ve done a new post! Give a look… Lol

    Reply
  • 14. Su  |  December 28, 2008 at 12:16 PM

    @All :

    I’ll fall back upon the Lighthouse example itself for further clarity. Does a good sailor think the Lighthouse will watch over him on his journey? Nope. It doesn’t command you. It does not cause thunder when its angry. It doesn’t cause differences of opinion. It doesn’t cause storms coz a sailor doesn’t believe in it!

    If I appear to be a believer of GOD just like any other, who goes to temple with a mile-long wish list, or who prays for an hour a day to forget his pains, correct yourself. I take responsibility for my actions and strive to make my own destiny. GOD has got nothing to do with what I do. He doesn’t control Me, nor do I run to Him like a mortally scared cat.

    I still say I do not know if GOD exists or not. But, I believe in GOD. Not because I want an imaginary friend or a guardian Angel, but to anchor myself to rationalism, to reality, against immoral acts and temptations.

    GOD is only a state of mind. Extending this topic to his presence or not, and if present, which form being superior, is just an example of ego-battles among individuals. I am sure that none here is pressing their thoughts and are just taking part in the discussion. It’ll be pleasant as long as it remains so.

    Abhilash
    I was wondering hw i cud write a comment as long as this. Unless, i replied to comments in my blog about the same topic. πŸ˜€
    I do not support anything the world thinks about GOD. I’ve my set of beliefs, which hold humans, and only humans responsible for all that has befallen (wo)mankind. As for the unexplained mysteries, its a matter of time before they’re revealed as well.
    correction – I’ll give a chance to my grand kids to criticize me. But before that, I’d be the pioneer of rational theism and hence “end the last breed of the incoherent theists.”

    Amitabh
    Man makes an escapist out of himself. Doesn’t matter if he is a theist or otherwise.

    Reply
  • 15. apoorva  |  December 28, 2008 at 2:47 PM

    I believe in god.But I dont give any name or shape to it.I just say its a supernatural power which controls us. As gravitational force is for earth, God is for people.That is what I BELIEVE.
    Well as you have mentioned about people saying “My imaginary friend is better than yours” , I just want to tell that they are free to imagine anything until and unless they wont force other people to follow what they believe.Imagining is LIMITLESS.
    In the same way believing god is their own likes.
    You cant change other people’s belief n vice versa.
    “Realization three – GOD is not who the people claim it to be.” -Then who is he?? Can I say, some part of yours still say that there is god????
    And regarding religion, even I dont believe all those.For me all religions are same.
    By the way those links were very good especially “How I met your Bacterium?”
    Totally damn good post.

    Reply
  • 16. Anniyan  |  December 28, 2008 at 3:17 PM

    Abhilash
    belief isn’t an ocean. it is a whirlpool. the more u get sucked in, the more are your chances of getting ashore. u just cant get the hell outta it.
    Very true. πŸ™‚

    Amitabh
    Escapism is the root cause of a person’s destruction. As I have mentioned in my post, I WAS an escapist when I used to believe in GOD. Now I know better than to blame imaginary things for my mistakes. Thanks for your comment though. The part about Pascal believing in god in his old age can be attributed to the loneliness factor. πŸ™‚ People tend to feel left out in their old age. That is why most of the pious people are old people.

    Su
    I don’t seem to understand the need for GOD according to YOUR perception. And yes, this topic is well and good only if the discussion is just a discussion. Nobody should force themselves upon others.

    apoorva
    Thanks. I did a lot of research for this project post. And the links were also very relevant to the topic. And this – “Can I say, some part of yours still say that there is god????”
    Well I can only say that you haven’t understood me completely in this part. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 17. T  |  December 28, 2008 at 5:56 PM

    lol…I am getting my gravity gun to pull things out :p

    Reply
  • 18. Anniyan  |  December 28, 2008 at 6:19 PM

    T
    HEY! I didn’t know you were back! Thought your website was down or something. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 19. arvind  |  December 28, 2008 at 11:15 PM

    awesome Post ,
    I agree that there is nothing that control us ..
    Any one who can think practically should come to this conclusion ..
    But people are fed with preconceived ideas of GoD and they refuse to think practically …

    Reply
  • 20. T  |  December 28, 2008 at 11:36 PM

    @Anniyan
    Yeah am enjoying offline now. Corrected my blog URL link too.
    Its http://t.webofgoo.com

    But will be posting once in a blue moon from now onwards. Though I have lots of pending blog posts.

    ***greeting***

    Reply
  • 21. Quakeboy  |  December 29, 2008 at 1:45 PM

    Man.. you write REAL stuff. Great Article!

    I feel soon in future people will discover scientific reason behind elevation and other tricks performed using Yoga/Meditation etc.. May be there are theories yet to be discovered but still termed super natural.. I have (just)heard Vedas are very interesting, they speak about things and not gods.. I’m believe there are people in this very world who can perform crazy things like disappearing, walking on water etc..

    Moreover I recently stopped believing in Karma. I’m sure we all have seen people who have been suffering throughout their life in some forms and thinking what injustice they have done to others.

    I strongly believe in 20-80 principle – 80% of what you have/are in life is because of only 20% of your actions..Google for it.. some have written about it.

    and finally.. A Brahmin? An Atheist.. you need real guts to speakout your views about this amongst your parents/relatives.. Go Pavan Go !

    Reply
  • 22. manushi  |  December 29, 2008 at 3:36 PM

    now… Pavan…after reading all the comments i just want to tell you that sometimes miracles do happen and then you wonder that if there is something beyond our efforts that has caused them…yes i never believed in GOD but he gave me strength and courage when i needed it the most…and miracles have happened with me…something personal can’t write about it but it has happened which made me believe in some super power above which makes it all right for us when things are not in our control…i don’t believe in religion but i do believe in that power that guides and supports us….i’m psychic that’s why maybe i can understand the depth of the power quite well… and the way it has been helping me out when i had no control over the situation…hope one day you’ll feel it too like i did…

    Reply
  • 23. Anniyan  |  December 29, 2008 at 5:07 PM

    arvind
    People are always fed many ideas. Civilization will move to the next step only when this stops.

    T
    Aw man. I am going to miss reading those really helpful technical posts. πŸ™‚ And where do I get the pirated version of that game? Unless it is free, I am not playing it. πŸ™‚

    Quakeboy
    People walking on water… I had come up with a practical explanation for that once. It was funny though, to people not willing to think open-mindedly. Too big to express here anyways. πŸ™‚ Maybe I will write a post on it. πŸ˜€ And thank you for your compliment.
    PS: I am a Brahmin to every caste oriented human being out there. But only an average human being to others. πŸ™‚ I might never tell my parents about my view of god. I have given them enough pain already. I am an Atheist at my heart though. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 24. Anniyan  |  December 29, 2008 at 5:10 PM

    manushi
    i don’t believe in religion but i do believe in that power that guides and supports us…
    No offense, but whatever happens is the result of something else. No external power controls it. You are just looking for support in an imaginary power. Try to look for it in real people. πŸ™‚ Sorry if I hurt you by saying that.

    Reply
  • 25. vimal  |  December 30, 2008 at 3:09 AM

    I must admit that you have a hard hitting post there and I second almost all the views that you have written here.

    But, the disclaimers and the defense you take every now and then in the post is something which I wouldnt agree on. I hope you take this comment in the right spirit. I mean, you dont have to put thilaka if you do not believe in it. and again, religion is each individuals take and you shouldnt worry about your family members knowing it. You should be proud enough to stand up for what you believe. I know its not as easy as how im putting it here in your commenrs section. But only if you stand up for what you believe now, you could live an non-hypocritic life later. Right now, you wouldnt want your parents to know, later you wouldnt want your spouse to know and there are chances that it will continue. and then again, how long will you continue to keep it a secret from your parents? until you build your own wings ? well, thats even bad I would say. I respect our Kamal Hassan a lot on that regard !

    Reply
  • 26. Nikhil  |  December 30, 2008 at 6:26 PM

    I’m an agnostic! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 27. Abhilash  |  December 30, 2008 at 10:12 PM

    @Manushi
    There is nothing on earth thats called a miracle. Its just a series of events that are totally undexpected(and that happen for good). Whats good is called a miracle. Whats not good is not called a miracle. It might be called catastrophe or curse perhaps.
    Whatever happens on earth is a Domino Effect. You drop the first Domino, the last one falls too. There is a definite path. A known path.Its the same with the events tagged as miracles. One person does somethin, has an effect on another, he/she in turn does somethin and somethin else happens. i know this description was stupid. But its like a Chain reaction. Nothin on earth is miraculous. Its all circumstantial. And when someone says, ‘he rose from the dead’ n stuff lyk dat(actually talkin abt the person who “got up” from the coma after 7 yrs), these are unexplained medial things. There is always a cause for everything.
    hey does WordPress not have specific reply comment feature?i mean i can comment as a reply to someone else’s comment.
    Did i just see the name Kamal Hasssan in one of the posts???
    And Nikhil agnosticism is good, diplomatically. You can be a good moderator in an arguement involving topics of beliefs. But its good to stay on either side coz wen u r on both sides, u end up being on neither.

    Reply
  • 28. Abhilash  |  December 30, 2008 at 10:13 PM

    Wow… i just got influenced by Su. for Comments.length();

    Reply
  • 29. kamal  |  December 31, 2008 at 9:52 AM

    I write fun blogs πŸ™‚
    but even i have an opinion on god and this is how I think god can be xplained
    If at all there is a being called God, and if at all the universe is created by God, there was no intelligent design behind it. God probably did a one time random work of art called the universe or a river of multiple universes and probably stands back and enjoys the work of art. It is like a painter making a unique painting, standing back and enjoying it for as long as he/she likes. The painter is not a God here, he is an artist who splashed the colors and whatever happens later he doesn’t interfere with it. He doesn’t sit down to alter the finished painting, but he rather moves on to the next. A Random work of art can also happen by accident. When you accidentally spill a plate of pasta on the floor, it can look like an art. My Tamil readers will be able to relate this to a scene in the movie – β€œAnbe Sivam”(which means Love is God). So God might have ended up creating the Universe while he/she dropped his/her lunch on the floor. This can only mean that the existence or non-existence of God doesn’t matter to our own existence

    Reply
  • 30. Anniyan  |  January 2, 2009 at 9:46 AM

    vimal
    Thank you. πŸ™‚ I would like nothing more than to express my views to my father. But I cannot do it as easily as you have said here. The reason being that I love my dad. I want to keep him happy. He is a heart patient. He values GOD more than anything else in his life. I think these are reasons enough for you question. I am ok with it. Anything to keep him happy. πŸ™‚ And yes, don’t drag Kamal Hassan into this. I don’t like him. πŸ™‚

    Abhilash
    Nothin on earth is miraculous. Its all circumstantial.
    Exactly what I have said in my FIRST post dude. πŸ™‚ It’s titled Importance of people in others’ lives.
    I also got influenced by Su and started a blog. πŸ˜€ That is what you are seeing now. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›

    kamal
    I am sorry to say this, but I have already read this idea of god somewhere else. It was written by Dinesh. And here is the post: An opinion on god

    Reply
  • 31. Destination Infinity  |  January 2, 2009 at 8:17 PM

    There are patterns in everything that is around you – The waves follow a certain pattern. We can take advantage of such a pattern but not alter them. The planets follow a certain pattern of revolving around their stars. The human beings follow a certain pattern – inhale oxygen and exhale carbon di oxide. All these patterns which recur with such precision, could not be random accidents, as the theory of evolution or the big bang theory propagates. When we don’t know the answers, it is better to assume that GOD is behind all these things, because if a GOD isn’t behind all this, if all this doesn’t make sense and just random accidents, then there is no difference between us and a group of termites. And I am not hurting the termites, with my previous sentence.

    Destination Infinity

    Reply
  • 32. Destination Infinity  |  January 2, 2009 at 8:25 PM

    Forgot to add: At least, the termites know what they want in life. They strive to achieve them in a single minded and simplistic way. That’s the way a species ought to live. Instead of complicating the simplest of things to achieve the same results!

    Destination Infinity

    Reply
  • 33. Reema  |  January 3, 2009 at 9:51 PM

    I second Vimal’s view. If you believe so strongly then stand up for ur views.
    I believe in the power of faith but what I don’t believe in is that there should be a specific way to express the faith and that there should be any compulsions.

    Reply
  • 34. mag  |  January 4, 2009 at 9:45 PM

    Hmmm…
    Too many posts.. oops comments…. that are as big as the post itself. It is really nice to see that the entire post has attracted so many of us to comment making it the biggest ever post for Anniyan…..

    As of the topic, I am sure you believe in GOD for some or the other reason…… You might not want to call it is your belief but that is the fact. Maybe, when I come across the same I would definitely point out to you.

    Reply
  • 35. Oxy  |  January 5, 2009 at 4:47 PM

    Does being Atheist really mean something? When you say you are ‘atheist’ you are in a way agreeing to the fact that there exists a god in whom you do not believe…

    Reply
  • 36. Anniyan  |  January 7, 2009 at 10:11 AM

    Destination Infinity
    Again, I support my argument that you are afraid of what MIGHT happen and want an imaginary friend to rely upon. πŸ™‚ I don’t blame you. I was like that too. But I just hope you will realize it as I did too. πŸ™‚

    Reema
    There are some things in life that aren’t just so easy to do. One of those things is this. I want to come out and say that I don’t believe in GOD. But that would shatter my father who values GOD more than his life. 😦 But I think I WILL let him know about my views one day or the other. πŸ™‚

    mag
    Good to see you back here again. I was beginning to wonder whether you stopped reading my blog. πŸ™‚ As you say, I don’t believe in GOD. Your current statement, I think, is based on what you knew about me two months earlier. It has been that long since you have even spoken to me properly. But I have changed in that course of time. πŸ™‚ Looking forward to our next meeting. πŸ™‚

    Oxy
    AH! Oxy boy! How I wish I didn’t disappoint you. πŸ™‚ But then, I have to let you know. It is not that I just don’t BELIEVE in GOD. It is just that there IS NONE to begin with. And what you are trying to do here is relate me with the figment of imagination. This is just like saying, “I hate Harry Potter”. And replying, “See? You actually like it. That’s why you are mentioning the name now”. Get the picture? πŸ˜› πŸ˜€ πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 37. Oxy  |  January 7, 2009 at 3:44 PM

    Hey! That parallel with Harry Potter was well made and I got the picture as well. But what I meant by my comment was more to your one statement ‘I am an Atheist’. Once you say that you agree to the existence of God. How about Agnostic?

    Reply
  • 38. smallstar  |  January 7, 2009 at 7:04 PM

    dropped by with my brother’s computer… eheh… I missed ya all very much!!!!! see you on msn… *HUGS* *KISSES*

    Reply
  • 39. Renie  |  January 9, 2009 at 3:00 PM

    Absence of evidence must be considered as evidence of absence!

    Reply
  • 40. quotes  |  January 20, 2009 at 1:09 PM

    Your site has won a Blog of the Day Award (BOTDA)

    Award Code

    Thank you,

    Bill Austin

    Reply
  • 41. Robin Willis  |  January 21, 2009 at 1:05 AM

    I found it interesting that your disbelief in God rests partly on your realization that you were the one responsible for how you performed in class. I agree with your statement that God is not who people claim that He (or it) is. It seems that a lot of people see God as a genie in the sky or basically just a gift-giving machine. If the machine doesn’t perform, then their god obviously does not exist or isn’t who they thought he was.

    However, the Bible reveals God to be a being who has his own will and who was powerful enough to create the universe. It wouldn’t make sense for a God with that much strength and power to cave to the demands of every selfish human being who prays for something that they really want.

    I have seen God work miracles in my life and I’ve also had him tell me “No” or “Wait” for things I’ve asked for. Having him say “No” does not make him less real to me. As a parent I tell my children no sometimes and other times I refuse to do for them what they could do for themselves. And of course, there are times when I step in and intervene and do for them what they could not do on their own. I often see God responding kind of like that parent.

    He would not deserve the title of God if he were just a being who must cater to our every whim. He is only God if HE is in control and fulfills his purposes through US.

    Reply
  • 42. Dinesh Babu  |  January 24, 2009 at 12:02 AM

    Realizing or not Realizing God is one’s own journey. God is different for everyone because of the way we perceive. It is up to you. But you cannot blame God for your actions, because you will only be reaping the results of your own actions. You can’t kill someone and pray God that you don’t get caught and not get punished.

    Reply
  • 43. T  |  January 26, 2009 at 2:45 PM

    So in the beginning there was God and before that you don’t know. Who created God then ?

    Aztecs sacrificed Humans to their Gods for immortality, but tell me do you see them now. Just proves that the God they believed was IMAGINARY. Same is the case with every other stupid religion.

    How much do you believe in a book written thousands of year ago by some human ? I mean there has been lots of things happened after that, new virus strains came out and Tesla gave us electricity. So those of you who are sectarians must shun their wealth to the poor and pray God for salvation, why do you even enjoy such luxury. God didn’t send you here enjoying Viagra (which itself is an artificial pill) and carnal pleasures.

    Tell me you views about Homosexuality ? What is the punishment if someone is not Christian ? Can a rapist atone his deeds by marrying his victim after paying some price to her father ? What do we do left handed people? Ok, you ate forbidden fruit Eve and now God must torture you with labor pain? WTF…Bible itself contradicts at many points. Can’t you people see that religion is a means to subdue people by Church authority. It’s same old sh!te and people still fell for it. How ironical and pathetic. Anyway if you like to live in darkness then live as you like.

    Here is the story of some stupid parents who sacrificed their daughter in the name of God as God had a friggin plan. How can a human stoop so low ?

    http://www.the1585.com/oneamonth.htm

    Reply
  • 44. Ashwin  |  February 4, 2009 at 8:37 PM

    Got to your page through indiblogger network.

    Just one small comment:

    “Final realization – Nothing controls the workings of the universe. All that happens is because of logic. There is nothing more factual than logic.”

    Fact: You just replaced God by logic. Its that simple. Because you as a person couldn’t find a logical explanation for God, you accepted logic as one. *shrug*

    Btw, Your statement is “logically” wrong… sentimental at best. Any tenth standard student can tell you how our universe works on so rules that our ‘fabled’ scientists have struggled to unravel and yet there is so much unknown out there!

    You know the the most basic axiom of science? Remember the axiom on energy?

    “Energy can neither be created nor be destroyed, but can be converted from one form to another”.

    Tell me, then logically, did energy just exist without reason?

    I am not trying to prove God exists or not… simply pointing out flaws in your understanding and close minded approach.

    Reply
  • 45. Ashwin  |  February 4, 2009 at 8:52 PM

    Otherwise nice blog. Adding to my blogroll.

    Reply
  • 46. Denenmis Tarifler  |  March 12, 2009 at 4:37 PM

    You have a very quality and fancy blog.It was a lovely reading.Thanks for the post.

    Reply
  • 47. Anniyan  |  March 13, 2009 at 10:19 AM

    Oh! I thought I killed this post. πŸ˜€ It still lives! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›

    Reply
  • 48. hank sparrow  |  March 25, 2009 at 7:44 AM

    I really liked your blog!

    Reply
    • 49. Anniyan  |  March 25, 2009 at 11:35 AM

      Oh thank you. πŸ™‚ Hope you come back again. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 50. marko hansen  |  April 30, 2009 at 7:16 AM

    Whattadya know, another site to add to my reader! Google blog search has you pretty well indexed! Mark

    Reply
  • 51. bianca  |  May 4, 2009 at 1:17 AM

    I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader.

    Reply
  • 52. Sarah Small  |  May 19, 2009 at 8:21 PM

    A friend and myself have been arguing about an issue similar to this one! Now I know that I was right. lol! marked you as a fave so i’l; be back πŸ˜€

    Reply
  • 53. Gabby  |  June 11, 2009 at 10:50 PM

    A very nice niche blog, and a good design there sparks Simplicity yet complex algorithm of the internet. Thanks man You rock .

    Reply
  • 54. Where is the MIND?? « MY CANVAS  |  August 4, 2009 at 10:08 PM

    […] about God here. If you want to see some of good posts on god, you can check the following links: Pavan and […]

    Reply
  • 55. vyshak.m.b.  |  November 25, 2009 at 10:54 PM

    FIRSTLY, A VERY TRANSPARENT WAY OF DESCRIPTION OF EXPLAINING YOURSELF. WHICH I VERY MUCH APPRECIATE. U’VE GOT THAT “SUBSTANCE” IN YOU OF EXPLAINING YOURSELF WHAT IS WRONG AND RIGHT AND I FEEL THAT “REALIZATION IS GOD!”.WISHING YOU ALL D BEST IN THIS EVER-LASTING RESEARCH OF PROVING THAT GOD DOESN’T EXIST.

    Reply
  • 56. Wilfred Lyden  |  June 16, 2010 at 11:24 AM

    I came here coming from Msn and have got to say this is a good web page for skating!

    Reply
  • 57. Israel Caspersen  |  May 20, 2011 at 5:50 PM

    hello there and thank you for your info – I’ve certainly picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise some technical issues using this site, since I experienced to reload the site a lot of times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and can damage your high-quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Well I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for a lot more of your respective fascinating content. Ensure that you update this again very soon..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



