The cataract and the concerned son.

December 20, 2008 at 11:35 AM 14 comments


A cataract is a clouding that develops in the crystalline lens of the eye or in its envelope, varying in degree from slight to complete opacity and obstructing the passage of light. Early in the development of age-related cataract the power of the lens may be increased, causing near-sightedness (myopia), and the gradual yellowing and opacification of the lens may reduce the perception of blue colours. Cataracts typically progress slowly to cause vision loss and are potentially blinding if untreated.

This is the excerpt from the Wikipedia documentation for the cataract. I had heard of the cataract many a times. But I never bothered to understand what exactly it is. But when my mother was diagnosed to be affected by it, I was concerned. It is not a major and dangerous disease. But I did not know that. Then when the doctor advised for an operation, I was really concerned.

The operation took place on the 17th of this month. It lasted but a few minutes. Nonetheless, care had to be taken to prevent any dust particles from entering the eye. When I went to the Eye Surgical Center, my mom was dressed in the hospital gown by the nurse to prepare for the operation. My heart skipped a beat when I saw that. I knew I was over-reacting; but I could not picture my mother at that position.

I always thought of her to be invincible. Well, I was in for a rude awakening. Once I saw my mother in that state, I started thinking about what would happen if either my father or mother pass away. I know it is inevitable. A life once born HAS to die. It is the law of nature. When I imagined a situation similar to the one mentioned, I freaked out. What would I do without them? This is the first thought that came to my mind.

At that moment I thought; “Why is it that I am over-reacting now?”. I always knew everybody had a lifespan and it was unbelievably short. I decided then and there that I had to keep my parents happy. That is what led to me telling them that I hadn’t done particularly well in the examination. They found it a little depressing as I have already lost two years as of now.

But I confidently told my father later that night that come next academic year, I will be attending college. I could make out he felt momentarily happy that his son who had not excelled in anything until that point and had a very low self confidence, is now providing him confidence. I felt I was going to burst out into tears. But I could not let them see me cry. It would devastate them horribly. If anything, I had to keep them from worrying about my life which has become a question in itself.

I succeeded in that. But to make that permanent, I have to stop wasting my time on unnecessary things and start utilising each and every second of my life to the fullest possible extent. I need to stop worrying about small things such as; Why aren’t my comments increasing? and why the neighbours always talk crap about my family. There are many other things I should stop doing in order to bring myself up in life. The biggest of which is LAZINESS.

That said, I should stop this rant at this point and get back to studying for the exam taking place day after tomorrow. Signing off, your depressed VTU student, Pavan a.k.a Anniyan.

Entry filed under: Rant. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Care for some WINE? Do I really know you?

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nikhil  |  December 20, 2008 at 1:37 PM

    shit man! I hope she gets better soon!
    Don’t worry about a thing! Cataracts are never dangerous these days, with good technology available and really good meds! Have faith, brother! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 2. Su  |  December 20, 2008 at 1:45 PM

    I think I should speak about this with you. Let the ripe time set stage. Have faith.

    Reply
  • 3. Reema  |  December 20, 2008 at 7:14 PM

    cheer up!! its good u realised the greater things u have to do in life. As for cataract dont worry. My father got it done for both eyes and my mom will be operated in march or so for one eye. If operated in right time and with phacoemulsification technology and good lenses, its good. Nowadays its just one hr procedure and one can go home after that. But ofcourse a good doctor must be there.
    I guess my sister being an eye surgeon helps in having calm nerves. Though she didnt herself operate Dad.
    If u have any queries u can mail me and I shall forward it to my sister.

    Reply
  • 4. Reema  |  December 20, 2008 at 7:14 PM

    And oh all the best!

    Reply
  • 5. Anniyan  |  December 20, 2008 at 9:20 PM

    Nikhil
    Its not the cataract that has me worried.

    Su
    When is the ripe time?

    Reema
    The operation is done. It took less than an hour to get vack home. πŸ™‚ But that was only part of my worries. And thanks for your wishes. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 6. arvind  |  December 22, 2008 at 1:23 AM

    Dnt worry dude ..
    every thing will be alright..

    Reply
  • 7. vimmuuu  |  December 22, 2008 at 8:30 AM

    Dont worry kiddo, cataract is not a problem these days. The only thing you have to take care of is the post surgical medicines/drops. There are a lot of them and you would have to remind them about it. Our parents behave like children as they grwo older and tend to forget the medicines.

    Its good that you realised things now. Im so proud of you Pavan. all the best for your exams.do well.

    Reply
  • 8. Sakhi  |  December 22, 2008 at 3:05 PM

    I am sure she is going to be fine. And ask her to take easy on her eyes for a while and with winter here, the healing will be faster. Just she should take care so that dust doesn’t get into her eyes!

    Cheer up!!:)

    Reply
  • 9. manushi  |  December 23, 2008 at 1:09 AM

    *BIG HUG*…have faith..chin up and be confident..she’ll be fit and fine in no time…

    Reply
  • 10. Anniyan  |  December 23, 2008 at 7:41 AM

    arvind
    Yeah. She had another operation in the other eye too. I feel bad because I had an exam when that happened and I couldn’t take care of her.

    vimal
    I have been taking care of that to the best extent possible by me. πŸ™‚ And about people behaving like children when they become older, you are absolutely right. πŸ™‚

    Sakhi
    I have told her whatever I can. And I am seeing to it that she sticks to it. πŸ™‚

    manushi
    Thanks for the hug. πŸ™‚ I hope she is fit. I cant bear to see her like this.

    Reply
  • 11. Varun  |  December 23, 2008 at 11:34 AM

    Cheer up depressed student!! There is nothing to worry. Everything will be just fine! Concentrate on your studies πŸ˜€

    We come to know the extent of a situation only when it happens to a near or dear one. So your reactions were absolutely justified. I hope your mom has recovered by now. It is great that you were there with her during the operation and there with her when she is recovering.

    Reply
  • 12. mag  |  December 25, 2008 at 7:21 PM

    Do I need to comment on this……

    whatever I should be doing, as the next in line, you are doing it to our parents.

    I think my going away to Chennai has only opened up more opportunities for you to understand our parents and act accordingly. The even bigger thing is that you have understand your responsibilities which are around you.

    Bro, while I am proud of you (as ever), I would only suggest you not to waste any time as we time wasted is only going to hurt us more in our lives.

    Think & act fast and start closing in on your various subjects at the earliest.

    The biggest happiness that you could give to parents is when you complete your studies.

    All the best for your remain ing exams…….

    Reply
  • 13. [Sticky]: For newcomers « Care to take a look?  |  December 27, 2008 at 5:08 PM

    […] The cataract and the concerned son. […]

    Reply
  • 14. Anniyan  |  December 27, 2008 at 5:18 PM

    Varun
    That is exactly what I am doing. Concentrating on my studies. And my mom is now almost back to normal. πŸ™‚

    mag
    Bro, I had thought for some time that you had stopped reading my blog. But it is happy to know that you still do. And thanks for your wishes. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



