Once upon a time – (Chapter 7)Falling back to normalcy.

December 13, 2008 at 9:53 AM 8 comments


Continued from the previous chapter, Remembered after all.

“I still remember the day when you first taught me how to swim in the public swimming pool. I was so scared I would drown that I almost never let go of you that day.”, said Kiran. “Yes, that was a very funny incident. But you have taught me much in life too.”, Aditya replied. Kiran called up to his office and told his secretary to cancel all his appointments for the rest of the day. They both just wanted to talk and talk until they ran out of topics. Kiran’s wife put their son to sleep and she was busy knitting something.

Now that they were free, Aditya and Kiran wanted to go to their favourite haunt. They went in and sat down at a table and ordered a couple of sundaes and started talking. “I can’t believe that our city has changed so much”, said Aditya. “Many things have changed since you moved, Chinnu.”, replied Kiran. Aditya was very euphoric when he was addressed using his childhood nickname. “So what do you do nowadays?”, asked Aditya.

“Well, I studied engineering and got a very good percentage. But sadly, only that was not enough for me to find a job that I liked. They told me I lacked practical implementation skills. I was literally devasted when they told that to me. I was thinking only of you. After a couple of months, my father suggested that I take over his business. I did not want to, but I had no choice. Some months later, I was married to his friend’s daughter. Thankfully for me, she has been a good wife to me and a good mother to my son.”, replied Kiran.

Aditya just sat there open-mouthed, just listening to all the things Kiran told him. He wanted to say so many things. But somehow, he could not find the words to say it. After a long chat, both the friends thought of going back to Kiran’s house. The rest of the evening, Aditya told Kiran how he fell in love and how he settled down in life. Kiran, listening to this felt that he had missed his friend too much.

As the time drew nearer for Aditya to leave, he made it a point to visit Kiran’s house again with both his wife and daughter. Aditya bid goodbye to Kiran’s wife and son and got into Kiran’s car. The drive to the bus-stand was very difficult on both of them as they did not want to be separated again. But with the promise of the next visit, Aditya got into the bus reluctantly. Slowly, things were falling back to normalcy.

He did not sleep even a wink through the entire journey. He was just thinking about his day with his childhood friend and the days he spent with him as a child. Before he knew it, he had arrived at his destination and it was time for him to dismount from the bus. As soon as he got home, the first thing he did was to mention the name Kiran to his wife. He had told her very much about Kiran. She was happy for him. Then and there, they started planning for meeting up with him. Their plan would not have to wait for too long to be implemented. New year was just around the corner.

I know the story is dragging a little bit. But that is what I have planned. I have thought of an ending and this is how I wish to present it. πŸ™‚ Last chapter to be out soon. πŸ™‚

Entry filed under: Story. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

A crack in the silence Once upon a time – (Chapter 8, FINAL)Difficult decisions

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. apoorva  |  December 13, 2008 at 9:59 AM

    WOW…now i badly wanna read next part…..

    Reply
  • 2. Quakeboy  |  December 13, 2008 at 10:06 AM

    waiting for the story to end in a special way..

    Reply
  • 3. Su  |  December 13, 2008 at 2:53 PM

    so, i’l have to stop day dreaming b4 my PC abt my childhood after next one! neva mind, i’l try to find a good sub πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  • 4. Su  |  December 13, 2008 at 10:51 PM

    well! hw about another tag? a simple one though πŸ˜› see this

    Reply
  • 5. vimmuuu  |  December 14, 2008 at 3:55 AM

    oooo get togethers??? are the wives old friends too??..waiting for the finale!!

    Reply
  • 6. Anniyan  |  December 14, 2008 at 10:12 AM

    apoorva
    You don’t have to wait for long. πŸ™‚

    Quakeboy
    It will end in a special way. I have almost finished writing it. It is sitting in my drafts. πŸ™‚

    Su
    Ah. Day dreaming in front of the PC. I will never get bored of that. Don’t worry, we will find you an alternative. πŸ˜€ I HAD to read this comment when I just finished working out math problems. 😦 And I don’t even have a camera! How the hell will I type out those equations?

    vim(x2)u(x3)
    Wait and see. And what was that about you not getting engaged? πŸ˜€

    Reply
  • […] Once upon a time – (Chapter 8, FINAL)Difficult decisions December 14, 2008 at 9:01 pm | In Story | Tags: business, celebration, departure, emotions, family, fireworks, Friends, goodbye, Life, memory, New year, party, separation, UK, whistle Continued from the previous chapter, Falling back to normalcy. […]

    Reply
  • 8. Dinesh Babu  |  January 30, 2009 at 1:09 AM

    Feels nice to read this story after a long time. Going interesting … now reading the next chapter.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



