Once upon a time – (Chapter 4)Of exams and terrified students.

November 24, 2008 at 10:43 AM 8 comments


Continued from the previous chapter, A friend who will help.

Sunday morning, as was his usual Kiran was already up and about finishing his chores and sitting to study. Aditya, as was his usual habit had just woke up. The time was now 9 AM. Kiran, realising that Aditya has not even started studying properly calls him up. Aditya’s mother picked up the phone. “Hello?” she said. “Hello auntie! Is Aditya there? This is his friend Kiran calling.” “Oh hello Kiran. How are you? Aditya just woke up.” “I am fine, thank you. I told him to wake up early in the morning. Doesn’t he do that?” “No child, he sleeps late in the night. One moment, I will call him. Chinnu! Your friend Kiran has called!” “Coming mom!” was Aditya’s reply.

“Hi Kiran! Good morning……” The talk goes on for a few more minutes about when to meet up and study. They decided it would be at Kiran’s house. They met later on in the day as planned and started studying. In the course of their study, Kiran found out something very amazing. He found that Aditya already knew all the concepts in the text book. Even many of which he did not know himself. When he told this to Aditya, Aditya reacted as if Kiran was just saying this to boost his morale. Later he realized that this was the truth.

After that day, many things changed. Kiran encouraged Aditya to write the concepts in his own words and explain them as he has understood. Aditya listened to him as an obedient student does to his teacher. This went on for some time and the second preparatory exams were also over. When the results came out, both of them felt the same about those results. They were nowhere even close to the actual results. This decided, their study ritual continued.

The impending public exam was playing a number upon their young minds. The tension was rising and so were the heart rates of all the parents and students alike. “These exams are not healthy.” said Aditya when they were making their final preparations two days before the exams. “I agree. I haven’t slept properly in a while.” said Kiran. “I hope I do well in my exams. Otherwise my mom will be totally mad at me.” Aditya said. “At least your parents care about how you study.” said Kiran. As soon as he said this, there was a long moment of silence between the friends. Each drifted into their own worlds thinking about their own problems.

The reverie of Aditya was broken by the noise made by his lovely daughter, who was 3 years old now. He spent much of his time nowadays thinking about his childhood. Where was Kiran? He always asked that question to himself. He was not the only close friend Aditya had at that time. But there were lots of memories which he shared with his childhood friend. If he was in his current position now, it was because of his friend Kiran. That small encouragement given by him to write what you have understood, was all he needed. He lulled his daughter to sleep again and drifted off into a dreamless sleep.

I hope I have carried the story well. I had a little problem about how I should do this. This was my conclusion on the problem. Feedbacks are more than welcome.

Update: I had written about Aditya’s daughter being only a year old. But I changed my mind when I started the 5th chapter. I have updated this chapter. I apologise for the inconvenience. 🙂

Entry filed under: Story. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Once upon a time – (Chapter 3)A friend who will help. Once upon a time – (Chapter 5)Vivid memories of childhood

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Su  |  November 24, 2008 at 5:32 PM

    there goes my instinctual prediction into thin air… till Aditya came out of is day-dream, i could somehow know the story beforehand coz, i too feel the same thing the two youngsters in the story do… ie concepts weigh more than their literature… but the story turned out to be one of nostalgia, than of uproar against the rote learning which was actually the apparent genre in which the story got classified into initially. Quite a good twist by the way… 🙂

    PS : if it appeals to you, try to keep the readers guessing abt the nxt part… for a longer time than the interval b/w ur postings… 😉

    Reply
  • 2. Quakeboy  |  November 24, 2008 at 11:19 PM

    Just read all the parts.. This much seems like reality.. Good story… waiting for the next part..

    Reply
  • 3. vimal  |  November 25, 2008 at 4:10 AM

    heyy, I liked it. not getting into too many details like Su, but even I kinda go into the past and think of those friends of mine who made me the way Im today. God knows where those people are. Those days, we never had the option of keeping in touch through emails or phone numbers. Sigh !

    Im glad that you gave a realistic end to the story. Oh, wait, is there more to come ???

    Reply
  • 4. Anniyan  |  November 25, 2008 at 10:05 AM

    @SU

    there goes my instinctual prediction into thin air… till Aditya came out of is day-dream, i could somehow know the story beforehand coz, i too feel the same thing the two youngsters in the story do… ie concepts weigh more than their literature…

    I am very happy that no one is able to guess the next part at this point. 🙂 Concepts do weigh more than literature.

    but the story turned out to be one of nostalgia, than of uproar against the rote learning which was actually the apparent genre in which the story got classified into initially. Quite a good twist by the way… 🙂

    I was very confused about how to bring about the twist. But I guess it went well. 🙂

    PS : if it appeals to you, try to keep the readers guessing abt the nxt part… for a longer time than the interval b/w ur postings… 😉

    I don’t know about that. The others would want it to be more frequent. 🙂 And I thought they might lose the story if the interval is too long. 🙂

    @Quakeboy

    Just read all the parts.. This much seems like reality.. Good story… waiting for the next part..

    Thank you. 🙂 I have mixed very small parts of my life with the story. For example, the idea to name Aditya was obtained from my nephew who is 3 years old now. We even call him Chinnu at home. 🙂 And Kiran is the name of my friend who is not with us any more.

    @vimal

    heyy, I liked it. not getting into too many details like Su, but even I kinda go into the past and think of those friends of mine who made me the way Im today. God knows where those people are. Those days, we never had the option of keeping in touch through emails or phone numbers. Sigh !

    It happens. Even I had lost contact with most of my friends until I encountered Orkut. 🙂

    Im glad that you gave a realistic end to the story. Oh, wait, is there more to come ???

    This is NOT the end. 🙂 There is MUCH more to come. 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Dinesh Babu  |  November 26, 2008 at 12:23 AM

    The story is going good. You have brought out the points of education system that we currently have. That is nice. Eager to know what is on your mind next.

    Reply
  • 6. Reema  |  November 27, 2008 at 8:58 PM

    Nice..waiting for next part.

    Reply
  • 7. smallstar  |  November 29, 2008 at 2:21 PM

    Nice story, buddy! It is very beautiful!! Waiting for the next parts…

    P.s. How are you? Long time I didn’t see ya, man… Many hugs

    Reply
  • […] Once upon a time – (Chapter 5)Vivid memories of childhood December 1, 2008 at 10:10 pm | In Story | Tags: Friends, habit, holidays, lazy, memories, play, vacations, Work Continued from the previous chapter, Of exams and terrified students. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



