Will I get a Job?

October 17, 2008 at 9:42 PM 13 comments


A warm hello to my fellow bloggers. I have been sharing most of my personal life with you as I would be with my close friends. But there is something I have hidden from for this long. If anyone has the idea that I am a very successful person in life and am doing pretty good with my stuff, I am sorry to say I have misled you. I am currently doing my engineering in APS College of Engineering, Bangalore. I should have been in my final year of college. Unfortunately, it is not so. I really have been putting my share of work towards achieving marksย in the examination. I would also like to share with you that I have a fair bit of practical knowledge about the subjects I am studying. But what I apparently don’t have is the theoritical knowledge which is of utmost importance if I want to complete my engineering.

And again I have lost one more year because I could not clear some subjects. As per the rule, I cannot have more than 4 arrear papers. But I have more than 4. i will keep trying and will do whatever I can to finish these papers in this attempt. I have already lost 2 years and I cant afford to lose any more. What worries me most is that my father is on the verge of retirement and I have not given him any proof that I will settle down well in life. Even if I complete my engineering with flying colours, I am very doubtful whether I would get a job. Many of my friends who have passed out with an aggregate of 65-70% are still suffering without a job. I felt a chill go down my spine just thinkingย about it. What will I do? Will I get a job? If so, will it be to my satisfaction? These questions are what worry me the most these days. They are also the reason why my post quality has come down.

The reason I wrote this post is because even my parents fail to understand these worries of mine. I am not blaming them for anything; as it is not their mistake at all. I haven’t given them anything to uphold their trust in me. It has been many days since I laughed out heartily. Even this moment I am getting a little emotional and a lump is forming in my throat. But I try to hide these feelings from my mother. Since I don’t go to college nowadays, I have no one else to spend time with. My only respite is the short conversations I have with my best friend Harsha (a.k.a SU) and the chats I have with my other best friend Apoorva over the phone. I am hoping that this reign of bad luck will end soon and things will start to look up.

I found this is the only other place where I can say anything I want to and others will listen without interrupting me. So if I have bored any of you I am not sorry. This is just my personal rant and I don’t expect anyone to react to it. I think I feel a little better after letting all this out. Until next time, Pavan.

Entry filed under: College, Friends, Life, Rant, Work. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Navratri at its best! The kiss of an angel.

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Su  |  October 17, 2008 at 11:00 PM

    In similar situations, to make myself lighter, i’d’ve cried. u’ve blogged. in both of our cases, the purpose was same… i hope the result will be the same too. the world as we see is like a fish seeing the surface of water. but the circle of light tht it sees is not the world as it wrongly perceives. i’ve had lengthy and deep conversations abt this with u… but i’m wondering how it cud’ve been a respite to u when i’m not able to convince myself tht i’ve spoken sufficiently! i’ll come back to this post after a few views of bloggers are expressed…

    Reply
  • 2. vimal  |  October 18, 2008 at 1:12 AM

    I had this similar feeling when I was in my 10th. My bro sent me a best of luck card which read :

    “Believe in yourself and success will come to you naturally”. I am not kidding, I had taken this quote very personally then and never had to look back as I still remember it whenever I feel a lill down.

    I am sure you will get a job and that too a gr8 one. The job market is a lill down at present, but I am sure by the time you pass out and start searching a job, it will be fine. Just dont lose hope and see the positive side of life.

    Pavan, Believe in yourself and success will come to you naturally!!!

    Reply
  • 3. jai  |  October 18, 2008 at 9:22 AM

    hi ,thanks for ur comment on my blog.It was a great encouragement to me.anyways coming to ur blog,you need not first of all prove anybody anything.also i sense some sort of shiver in u about ur future.so be bold and face the world without any fear.do not worry at all.you could find people even below you DEAR BROTHER.so be courageous to do ur level best.u will definitely win one day.that day is not very far.

    Reply
  • 4. Bhargava Hukunda  |  October 18, 2008 at 9:37 AM

    without commenting much on the Indian educational system, I wud just say that you put in your best to come out of this phase. Being in the industry I very well know and have seen that the marks sheet that we get from college is just the entry criteria into the industry …….once you get into the industry it is only the ‘practical knowledge’ that you have talked about will help you not just survive but thrive !! ๐Ÿ™‚

    have faith in yourself ; and the rest will fall in place !

    Reply
  • 5. MAG  |  October 18, 2008 at 10:59 AM

    Bro, Do I really need to comment?

    There have been so many days in our lives that I have told you to share things….. if not with me atleast to some one…….

    The good thing is that you have found a couple of them who could help you do this…..

    Always remember one thing, what takes you up when you are down is the share of your worries and speaking out to some one whom you feel will listen to…. not advise you…

    This is purely out of experience………..

    When I met with my first accident, I hope you remember, I lost the biggest opportunity in my life (even today it is my biggest and most precious) to participate in the RD parade at New Delhi.

    You very well know how I felt. Those days are still fresh in my mind…….

    Buddy, all that I can say to you is that I am there for you to rely on me……..

    Do not hesitate for any thing…… I am just a call away….

    Life is got a long way to go……. this is not end of Life……. and passing out with the required marks is not impossible……….

    A little more of effort and you are out of this SHIT!!!!

    Always remember, All that happens is for your Good and there are many more things to come in your life………..

    A hearty Laugh is not so important……… but when you have to cry it out….. so that YOU will be a new YOU!!!!

    Reply
  • 6. T  |  October 18, 2008 at 10:42 PM

    Don’t be afraid by the hopes turning into despair. What I would suggest is to work hard cram things, make it history essay and fill the answer sheets. Works well for passing theory exams. Though I hated this thing till I entered second year of Engg, there is no other way to keep away from these really old syllabi.

    About getting a job. Its quite easy, guess you shouldn’t expect that you will look for a job matching with the domain you got a degree for. Get any job, decent one. Start from low and progress gradually. Its good to be an average joe than an overly ambitious tart.

    Reply
  • 7. Dinesh Babu  |  October 19, 2008 at 7:24 PM

    Creativity needs no Theory. You can be as creative as anyone who scored a 90% in the exams, or in fact even more. The world (companies) look for that creativity mainly. I personally know a few friends of mine who didnt fare well in the exams but got into some of the best IT companies. Be confident, hold your head high and don’t stop being creative. Jobs will be lined up for you.

    Reply
  • 8. arvind  |  October 19, 2008 at 10:05 PM

    Dude … believe me dude our education system sucks really …no theoretical knowledge is needed to survive here … I am very good academically ..call me a topper but i am as bad as u (if u really feel u are) …
    i am sure u will get one .. be confident and stop worrying ..everything will be fine ..
    u have made only one mistake ..that is by joining a college that has such a crappy rule ..
    in my college there were people who had more than 25 arrears totally … and they are having a very good job..

    Reply
  • 9. Nikhil  |  October 20, 2008 at 4:34 PM

    You’re not a true engineer unless you flunk in VTU..!! ๐Ÿ˜€
    Dude, chill maadi.. Everyone goes thro these situations… It’s not a crime to flunk in engg or get a year back… It’s a stepping stone… Don’t worry about anything… You’ll always get jobs… If you’re good in your subjects and you know the logic involved, anyone would hire you… Marks aren’t everything… Just don’t worry… ๐Ÿ™‚
    And if you’re really paranoid, then please get in touch with me – I’ll counsel you properly… I am in Bangalore too, and I’m a VTU pass-out too… so, I understand exactly what you’re going thro… I know that your English is quite good… If you like the field of communications – public relations, marketing or advertising, lemme know… Lots of money in this field.. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Cheers…

    Reply
  • 10. Anniyan  |  October 20, 2008 at 7:55 PM

    @Everyone
    Thank you for all the support you guys have offered me. It really helped me think clearly. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 11. Ram  |  October 23, 2008 at 2:45 AM

    Hey Pavan,
    Taking this personally I would say things will be better for you one day! You will come out with flying colors as said and would write a wonderful post explaining about you scenario at that point of time. I pray to god that things change soon at your end.

    And as others have commented , you should be interested in a particular field, try doing that and believe in what you do! Kudos! Be Happy!

    Reply
  • 12. Reema  |  October 25, 2008 at 12:12 AM

    First of all identify what could have been the mistakes in your answers. Second always attempt questions totaling of full marks in arrears paper. Like if u gotta do 5 questions in whole paper then do 5. Dont do only 4. Solve old question papers.

    In our university we had different scheme. To enter 3rd year, 1st year had to be clear. and to enter 4th year, 2nd year had to be clear. The number of arrears or back papers as we call it over here doesnt matter.

    Most importantly don’t be depressed. As they say there is no engineering without back papers. ๐Ÿ™‚ Don’t worry about job. And do join some computer courses. U will surely get a job. And of course if u do M.tech or M.E. with good marks then ur graduate degree doesnt matter anymore. Nowadays there are M.E. and M.tech courses in private colleges too so u need not have a Gate score to get admission.

    All the best dear. what is ur branch? And what are the papers u have yet to clear?

    Reply
  • 13. [Sticky]: For newcomers « Care to take a look?  |  December 27, 2008 at 5:52 PM

    […] Will I get a job? […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



