Time Machine

October 2, 2008 at 8:30 PM 15 comments


The dream of each and every man since the dawn of time (when exactly is that?) is that he wants to go back and forth in time. These show the attachment of man to something that has happened in the past and his lack of patience for what the future holds. I have read somewhere previously that “The best thing about tomorrow is that it comes only one day at a time”. This is so very obvious. But we still fail to notice it in our lives. What is it that prompts us to do such a thing?

The answer comes when we ask this question to ourselves. One may say he would want to travel back in time so that he could have prevented something bad from happening. Another might say he would want to know what would happen in his future and subsequently make his life simpler. This as most would agree, are very logical and perfectly acceptable wishes.

But it is not so. I am not too very religious, but there is a very reverberating saying in the Bhagavad Gita that goes like – “What has happened has happened very well; what is happening is happening very well and what is going to happen will also happen very well”. This is one of the most intriguing sayings that caught my attention at a very young age itself. I am not trying to get too philosophical by saying all this. But all I am saying is, the wait will be worth it! And the things that have happened serve us as sweet memories or painful lessons which will be helpful for our future.

So folks, there is no necessity for a time machine at all. But man still wishes to conquer time. This is also due to his desire to control nature. There is still a painful lesson to be learnt – None can control nature and time even if he manages to stop his watch somehow. 🙂 Just kidding, But that is the fact. Live with it. Stop pondering over the things that have already happened and don’t worry about what is going to happen in the future. All these are well left untouched by our minds when we are occupied. So enjoy your life and don’t try to stop yourself from having a WTF!? moment. Adios amigos! Until next time! 🙂

Entry filed under: time. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Lonely, I am so lonely… Wait… Are you straight?

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bhargav  |  October 3, 2008 at 12:06 AM

    Yesterday is History.
    Tomorrow is a Mystery, and Today is a gift.
    That’s why we call it the Present.
    by Eugénie des Alpages (not me!!) 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. arvind  |  October 3, 2008 at 1:05 AM

    Time machine …umm.. i have always wanted to have a gadget like it ..not for knowing my future and not for correcting my path…but to know our history .,..imagine going to time when taj mahal was being built …it would have been so amazing .. 😛
    anyway coming to topic..,i don’t believe in such thing actually.. and even the GITA’s lines are supposed to boost a man’s morale ..all one should do is to live his life on every day basis…

    nice post ..u chose a good theme…
    most ppl do tend to lose their future just by thinking their past …

    Reply
  • 3. Dinesh Babu  |  October 3, 2008 at 1:43 AM

    You are right there is no necessity to own a Time Machine if you care about your present and have a fulfilling life. But the invention of Time machine will be driven by curiosity and “What if”. That is exactly what the HG Wells story made into Movie also shows. You don’t have to be religious to ready B. Gita. That is a very interesting saying that you have put through. If we learn to forgive our past and not worry too much about future, we can live our present life in peace. That’s what the monks say too! Very nice post, I liked the flow.

    Reply
  • 4. Quest to control Time « Maduraiveeran’s Blog Marks  |  October 3, 2008 at 1:44 AM

    […] to control Time Jump to Comments Do we really need a Time machine? Ponders Pavan and says we shouldn’t bother about controlling Time and just live through […]

    Reply
  • 5. apoorva  |  October 3, 2008 at 10:37 PM

    VERY GOOD POST….Ppl r greedy u knw..the more they get,the more they want…I wish even i had a time machine so that i can turn off pages of my life bit soon 😉
    NICE POST PAVAN

    Reply
  • 6. Anniyan  |  October 3, 2008 at 10:50 PM

    @Bhargav
    You are absolutely right. I mean, HE is absolutely right. 😀

    @arvind
    It’s not only the Gita, but I read whatever is written in the philosophical snese and not in the religious sense. Your last set of words were very nicely put. That is what I have tried to tell. Don’t lose your future by pondering over the past. It even reminds me of this song “18 ’till I die” by Bryan Adams. One of the lines is like – “Don’t worry ’bout the future, forget about the past; ‘m gonna have a ball, yeah! Gonna have a blast!

    @Dinesh
    The monks say many things. And many of those things are very valuable thoughts that they have been awakened to. Now which path is it that you want to take? 😛
    PS : Thanks for adding this post to your blog marks.

    @apoorva
    You are the reason I wrote this post. 🙂 It was your statement about how slow time flows that made me write this post. 🙂 You are a genius! 😀

    Reply
  • 7. Reema  |  October 3, 2008 at 11:11 PM

    Hmm I would really like to have a time machine to stop myself from doing some of the worst mistakes of my life but then I think if i change past it will alter my present and future which are good. so let bygones be bygones.

    Reply
  • 8. Su  |  October 5, 2008 at 4:27 PM

    I dont like a time machine. i like a time trap. so tht i’ll be trapped in the times out of which i never desired to come out. at the same time, i have some part of me refraining from it too… coz, who knows if something really better than those times are waiting to happen! Time-its best left as a mystery, coz, its destined to be a mystery till it ends (if it happens)

    Reply
  • 9. Nikhil  |  October 5, 2008 at 7:41 PM

    Tomorrow never dies, said Ian Fleming! 😀
    Good post macha! Loved those images!

    Reply
  • 10. vimal  |  October 6, 2008 at 6:25 PM

    Ahaa, a different perspective of a time machine. Personally, I always wished there was one. There a couple of past instances in my life that I really really need to chenage. I am not so worried about the future, but yes, then again, I would love to see how the world is in 5000 !!!! 😀

    Nice post buddy. Btw, I nominated some of your posts for the awards(by Poonam) and one of them got selected too. yeyy!!!

    Reply
  • 11. Anniyan  |  October 7, 2008 at 11:27 AM

    @Reema
    As I said, everyone would like to undo their mistakes so that their life would have been perfect. But life is not meant to be perfect. I know I am getting too philosophical. But I can’t help it. That is the fact. 🙂 And yes, “let bygones be bygones” 🙂

    @SU
    There you go again with one more of your concepts. But then, I too am like that. So I won’t judge you. 😀 Time – ending? Nice topic for a future discussion. But I think it is a paradox.

    @Nikhil
    Thank you. 🙂

    @vimal
    I would be amazed if the world existed in 5000. If it did, then man has truly conquered nature. Anyway, we will leave that to another discussion. Thank you very much for nominating my post. 🙂 I was overjoyed! 😀 And I was also wondering who nominated my post. 😀 Need to do some nominations myself, but not finding the time.

    Reply
  • 12. vimal  |  October 9, 2008 at 11:07 AM

    U deserve to win buddy, thats why the nomination. Infact, I had nominated a couple of your posts too, but I guess the best one got into the list. Anyway, all the best.

    Reply
  • 13. Destination Infinity  |  October 16, 2008 at 8:48 PM

    Even if we are transported back in time to a crucial juncture – would it make a big difference in our lives? That is a question that, if I put to myself, I would answer in the negative. Even though we face some tough situations because of certain decisions we made, we still learn from them.

    Destination Infinity

    Reply
  • 14. Anniyan  |  October 17, 2008 at 9:28 AM

    @Destination Infinity
    Those certain decisions were what changed our lives and many others’ permanently.

    Reply
  • 15. [Sticky]: For newcomers « Care to take a look?  |  January 8, 2009 at 8:36 PM

    […] Time Machine […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



