Ripples on the surface.

September 7, 2008 at 1:02 PM 22 comments


This is my first try at something new to me. In this post I am trying to write a passage which is an alternate to a poem. It conveys the message by taking you into the perspective of the related subject. Well here it goes…

It is calm, very calm on the surface. A single leaf falls on it and as soon as it touches the surface, repercussions are witnessed. If the surface itself is so unsettled, what, oh what is the condition on the inside? Incidentally, just the opposite. The surface initially appears calm. But when it encounters a distraction, it is disturbed. But the deeper regions are not even affected by this. But what is seen on the outside is just an illusion. Where is the calm that was once there? Does it exist? Yes! On the inside. These are just ripples on the surface.

I have not described anything in detail for the reason that each person may interpret it in their own way. I wanted to provide my readers with the pleasure of thinking “out of their mind”. Please leave your comments on what you feel about this post.

Entry filed under: Thinking. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Family Values: Where do they sell THAT? Tag-gle the switches of love.

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. apoorva  |  September 7, 2008 at 2:52 PM

    AMAZING POST PAVAN…..
    everytime i read this ,i was relating it to different things..
    too gud man…

    Reply
  • 2. Nikhil  |  September 7, 2008 at 5:37 PM

    Pretty neat, dude! I like it… Reminds me of an old wallpaper I had once… It was found on this site called Digital Blasphemy… Check this link:
    http://www.digitalblasphemy.com/mpages/p2k/ds1.shtml

    The image called Haiku… Lovely poem, dude! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. arvind  |  September 7, 2008 at 5:56 PM

    nice one dude.. 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Dinesh Babu  |  September 7, 2008 at 6:55 PM

    We get affected by things that happen outside and we react to it. But if we stop for a moment and look into our inside, you will find all but calm and peace. There is no reason for agitation or any form of positive/negative reaction. Good Philosophical post!

    Reply
  • 5. Su  |  September 7, 2008 at 9:49 PM

    Well… everything has inside and outside associated with it. if we stop wondering at the outward illusion, the most interesting part of exploring the inside can start off. this may lead to realising/exploring/discovering/inventing new ideas. by saying “everything”, i literally meant everything.

    Reply
  • 6. Oxy  |  September 8, 2008 at 8:04 PM

    I did my math and every time I co-related it to the recent happenings of my life.. ah, and I am hurt.

    Reply
  • 7. vimal  |  September 9, 2008 at 1:23 AM

    by any chance, are u referring to religions ?
    Just relate religion and the mishaps happening in this world in the name of religion and it would make sense (atleast to me!)

    Nice post.

    Reply
  • 8. Anniyan  |  September 9, 2008 at 9:16 AM

    @apoorva
    Thanks! 🙂 That was my main idea for writing this post. I am thinking of writing some more of it. I might put them in a new page or dedicate a new blog to them alone. Whatever it is, I will keep you guys updated. 🙂

    @Nikhil
    Thank you dude. 🙂 The wallpaper was very good. I viewed it in full screen and I could feel a sense of serenity. 🙂 Oh! It’s not a poem. It’s something new I came up with. Yet to come up with a name for the genre. Any ideas? 😀

    @arvind
    Thank you! 🙂

    @Dinesh Babu
    Nice view. 🙂 Though that is not what I had in mind when I wrote the post. But yes, I guess the post has served its purpose. It has made many people view the post differently. I guess I succeeded. 🙂 Haven’t I?

    @SU
    Good analogy. And you got it right about EVERYTHING being dual in nature. 🙂

    @Oxy
    I am sorry. But I did not understand what you said. Mind explaining? 🙂

    @vimal
    No. I did not refer to any religion. What I referred to will never be disclosed for the reason that I don’t want people to start thinking on my lines again. I want their OWN views. 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. smallstar  |  September 9, 2008 at 4:19 PM

    Greaaat, buddy!! I am lovin’ it!! 🙂 😉 ~keep writing something of amazing like this~ *HUGS*

    Reply
  • 10. Oxy  |  September 10, 2008 at 3:27 PM

    Ah, never mind. That wasn’t for u buddy. It was random blabbering after I construed what you wrote with something personal.

    Reply
  • 11. sandhya  |  September 13, 2008 at 12:14 AM

    pavan….this makes me read again & again,it takes u somewhere just no word to explain……….keep writing,though u don’t call it a poem its very poetic creative thinking!
    good job! keep writing……

    Reply
  • 12. smallstar  |  September 13, 2008 at 4:08 AM

    How are you, bro? 🙂 *hug*

    Reply
  • 13. Anniyan  |  September 13, 2008 at 11:14 AM

    @smallstar
    Sorry for the late replies. I am currently very busy with my project. And I will keep writing. Thinking of dedicating a separate page to it. If only I had a name to call this new innovation of mine…
    *HUGS and KISSES, SIS*

    @Oxy
    It’s alright. I don’t mind. I am happy that it provided my readers with the desired diversity. 🙂

    @sandhya
    Oh! Thank you! 🙂 Can you suggest me a name for it?

    Reply
  • 14. smallstar  |  September 13, 2008 at 3:29 PM

    @Anniyan: I am really sorry to know that u are so busy for ur project! Don’t worry. Take time if u need it, we wait for ya, buddy… 🙂 *HUGE KISS*

    Reply
  • 15. Anniyan  |  September 13, 2008 at 11:05 PM

    @smallstar
    Good to know that. Hopefully, I won’t take THAT long. 🙂

    Reply
  • 16. smallstar  |  September 14, 2008 at 6:04 AM

    I hope that your hope will be done! 🙂 😉 eheh if not, I’ll really miss you, darling! *me hopeful*

    Reply
  • 17. vimal  |  September 16, 2008 at 3:49 AM

    Buddy, you have been tagged :

    http://vimalsparadise.blogspot.com/2008/09/love-is-in-thetag.html

    Reply
  • 18. T  |  September 25, 2008 at 2:54 AM

    surface tension and wave interference :p

    Reply
  • 19. Anniyan  |  September 25, 2008 at 6:23 PM

    @T
    Spoken like a true engineer. You are one right? 🙂

    Reply
  • […] Winners Author: Vimal I Killed Him! Author: Vimal Phantoms in the Brain and Outside Author: Aparna Phantoms in the Brain and Outside Author: […]

    Reply
  • 21. Final List of Nominated Posts « Visceral Observations  |  October 23, 2008 at 9:49 AM

    […] You Author: Crazy Sam I Killed Him! Author: Vimal Phantoms in the Brain and Outside Author: Aparna Ripples on the Surface Author: Anniyan The Park Author: Neeraj Locking Horms With a Young Roman Author: Manofroma How […]

    Reply
  • 22. [Sticky]: For newcomers « Care to take a look?  |  December 12, 2008 at 5:12 PM

    […] Ripples on the surface […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



