VIRUS

August 10, 2008 at 12:15 PM 19 comments


First of all, a HUGE HI! to all you people who make it a point to go through my blog. πŸ™‚ My unprecedented absence from the computing world has almost gone unnoticed. However, that doesn’t worry me. I am happy with my readers. All this was because the dreaded cold/flu virus. To be very frank, I don’t even know the name of the virus that causes it. πŸ˜€ But then, it does the most damage whenever it visits. πŸ˜› To top it all, in an outstanding display of mercilessness, my PC was also attacked by a virus. 😦 No, not the same virus but the ones all us computer geeks and some others are familiar with – “A damaging program which may cause data loss or other unwanted events to occur when working on a computer”.

With this on my hand, I had to format my hard disk and re-install the operating system. Why didn’t I just download and install an anti-virus program? Because I HATE them. All that most of them do is find the virus and say it cannot be repaired or quarantined. Result? Deletion of some apparently important system files. πŸ˜€ Now that the damage was done, I decided that formatting-reinstalling was the best option. HUGE MISTAKE!!!

I found to my very disappointing revelation that my DVD drive was not working. Utter irritation! 😦 Then I concluded that my PC was not worth anything other than to surf the net and play some very old games. If anyone wants to know the configuration, I would be very happy to reply to them through comments. Mainly I don’t want to bore the readers by telling them all my stupid problems; which i most probably have already done. πŸ˜€

So how in blasted hell did I resolve this problem? Good question. Really.(Am I talking to myself? :P) I got the XP installation CD AND DVD drive from Harsha and very very dejectedly installed it on my PC. Something is better than nothing, right? Wrong! ANYTHING is better than Microsoft©. Deciding that I HAD to be online again ASAP, I continued with the installation. And then I slept peacefully knowing that I was back online. Well, at least in a couple of days(I still have the flu btw). But its a little better now. Was hoping to make a good come-back post. But I guess this should do. 😐

Entry filed under: Computer, Relaxation, Sick. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

A polluted pond! Relative Peace. Is it worth fighting for?

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. smallstar  |  August 10, 2008 at 12:59 PM

    @Anniyan: sorry to hear that! I want u online, man!! 😦

    *HUGS*

    Reply
  • 2. harshasrisri  |  August 10, 2008 at 4:52 PM

    Well, it seems to be a very adventurous patch of your life… πŸ˜€ the guy who lived (do you know who was the ‘you know who’? damn, the virus(es) ) πŸ˜›

    Reply
  • 3. Nikhil  |  August 11, 2008 at 9:41 AM

    Hehehehe! Dude, you’re dangerously close to being a yo-yo like me! And to top it all, you’ve had a weird illness too, just like me! But, welcome back! πŸ˜€

    Reply
  • 4. Anniyan  |  August 11, 2008 at 6:27 PM

    @Nikhil
    And I wish I had the same(preferably more) number of hits in my blog too. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜› Welcome to you too… So how are you feeling now?

    @Harsha
    ADVENTUROUS?! More like preposterous. I can’t believe some of the things I am going through right now.

    Reply
  • 5. Manoj Sterex  |  August 11, 2008 at 9:09 PM

    Hey, get well soon!

    And about your PC. Not all anti-virus software do that. Besides, do not blame a piece of software for the state of YOUR system. πŸ™‚

    My PC will turn 5 years this October and I had to do a major reinstall of the OS only twice till date. Once when I got the original version of Windows XP and the second time because one of my friends messed it up while working on it.

    Use the right software, maintain it right, and you’ll have no problems. I have my experience to vouch for that statement. πŸ™‚

    Besides, I can give you the anti-virus that I use if you like. You can contact me through Harsha.

    Coming back to you, why do I get this feeling that going back to college got you the flu? πŸ˜‰ One of my friends broke his leg on the first day of college! (this semester) LOL! Take care! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 6. Anniyan  |  August 11, 2008 at 10:02 PM

    @Manoj
    About the flu? I guess even my body realized that college was about to start. πŸ˜€ Now coming to the “Right Software-best result” part. Have you ever heard of something called “OPEN-SOURCE”? It’s not only free to everyone but also has some many cool features with it. I will say YES when you ask me if I can’t pay for an “Original” version of XP? The reason? I don’t like paying for shitty goods. If you are a programmer by any chance(I am one), you would know my troubles. The registry is TOTALLY messed up. WindowsΒ© is nothing but DLL HELL. And it is totally insecure. Try LINUX or UNIX for a change. Come out of the box called Microsoft. If I have to pay, it will be only for flawless products like Apple. And I most definitely don’t want an anti-virus program which is going to slow down my already slow PC to depths I can’t even imagine. No offense meant though. Just a casual anything beats Microsoft argument. Btw, did you know there are no viruses for the aforementioned operating systems other than Microsoft OSs? I wonder why? πŸ˜› πŸ˜€

    Reply
  • 7. vimal  |  August 12, 2008 at 12:14 AM

    get well soon buddy. and are you by any chance related to Nikhil ??? πŸ˜€

    Reply
  • 8. Anniyan  |  August 12, 2008 at 8:00 AM

    @Vimal
    Ha Ha… πŸ˜€ Good question. And no I am not related to Nikhil. πŸ˜› But I guess god finds a way to relate “people of our kind” by making us his personal yo-yo. πŸ˜€

    Reply
  • 9. Nikhil  |  August 12, 2008 at 10:33 AM

    I’m feeling much better, man! Thanks πŸ™‚
    And don’t worry, your hits are gonna go up, be patient! πŸ˜€

    Reply
  • 10. Manoj Sterex  |  August 12, 2008 at 5:58 PM

    @Anniyan:
    Lol! I haven’t paid for Windows XP either. It was my uncle’s copy, which he isn’t using anymore! πŸ˜›

    I don’t hate Windows as such and I’m not inside the Microsoft box either. I can understand the trouble with corrupt DLL’s and if I’m not wrong, it was because of a pendrive?

    I have Fedora 9 ‘Sulphur’ too. Only reason I still have windows is for the games. I’ll completely shift to Linux in a few months; when I stop playing games. πŸ˜›

    Why don’t you shift to Linux? Its really great.

    Btw, did you know there are no viruses for the aforementioned operating systems other than Microsoft OSs? I wonder why?

    Not very surprising to me. Obviously the ones who write viruses attack the OS which has a major share in the market. And almost half the world uses Windows, so what else do you expect? πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 11. mystiquedew  |  August 12, 2008 at 6:20 PM

    Indiapavan…

    ye wont believe this is the third “viral” post I am reading today….Looks like I am missing out on the “in” stuff these days πŸ˜€

    Hope ye recover soon πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 12. Anniyan  |  August 12, 2008 at 7:01 PM

    @Nikhil
    I hope so dude. “Patient” is what I am right now. πŸ˜€ Get it? You know… like in… SICK? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›

    @Mystique
    Thanks! Times change, people change. Or is it “in” stuffs change? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    @Manoj
    It is not because windows is used by most people that viruses are written for it. It is because only Microsoft is dumb enough to not make a UNIX based OS. I want to have a long discussion about this with you if I can find the time and place. Looking forward to it. πŸ˜›

    Reply
  • 13. Manoj Sterex  |  August 13, 2008 at 12:41 AM

    @Anniyan:
    Innovation must be criticized (effectively) not condemned! There is nothing wrong in Microsoft’s decision to write an OS which is not UNIX-based. They have probably not done a great job with it, agreed. Yet, its easy and logical to call half the people in the world fools for using Windows than blaming Microsoft for writing Windows; the former seems rather way too out-of-the box. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  • 14. smallstar  |  August 15, 2008 at 4:37 PM

    How are ya? Still problems with the virus?

    *hug*

    Reply
  • 15. Anniyan  |  August 15, 2008 at 4:50 PM

    @Manoj
    There is of course nothing wrong in Microsoft writing an OS which is not UNIX based. But it is definitely not right to advertise security when they don’t provide it. πŸ˜€

    @Smallstar
    Yeah. I might upgrade my PC in the coming week. Not sure about it though. But will be in touch. πŸ™‚
    *HUGS*

    Reply
  • 16. smallstar  |  August 15, 2008 at 5:47 PM

    @Anniyan: oh, I am sorry. However I hope that this problem will be resolved ASAP!

    Reply
  • 17. arvind  |  August 16, 2008 at 5:00 PM

    LOL
    Why didn’t I just download and install an anti-virus program? Because I HATE them. All that most of them do is find the virus and say it cannot be repaired or quarantined
    ha ha .. thats quite true.. and if u make up ur mind for installing one plz avoid for AVG ..all it does it asks for updates regularly and sleeps rest of the time..
    the virus comes wakes up the AVG and it allows it to do all that is need to fuck up the system ,.,
    πŸ˜›

    i have uninstalled it now.. πŸ˜›
    now my DVD drice is not working too and god knows what i will do if som4ething happens πŸ˜› s

    my system is old as urs ..only plays stupid old games..
    but i love the fact that counter strike works fine πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 18. Anniyan  |  August 16, 2008 at 6:18 PM

    @Arvind
    Hey! CS works fine in my PC too. πŸ˜€ But I got bored of playing single player. The computer bots are too predictable. And I agree about AVG. And I am very irritatedly using Avast! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 19. [Sticky]: For newcomers « Care to take a look?  |  December 12, 2008 at 5:11 PM

    […] VIRUS! […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



