Happy Birthday!!!

July 11, 2008 at 11:13 PM 7 comments


First, its not my birthday. It was my mother’s. It was on 10th July. HAPPY BIRTHDAY ONCE AGAIN MOM!!! It was nice to be the first person to wish her early in the morning. I had an exam on that day so I was up pretty early (I doubt whether I would have been awake so early otherwise :D). I wished her in the morning and off to college I went. I wrote my exam very well. After I came back I went to the gift shop.

Once I went there, I was perplexed by all the bright colored ornaments and mantelpieces on display. “What should I buy for mom?” I thought. It was very difficult mind you. Because this was the first time I was buying a gift for my mom. As confused as I was, I came to realize that brightly coloured ornaments and glass mantelpieces don’t remain forever. So I fished out a very peculiar gift and told the guy (I think he used too much perfume ‘cos I started to sneeze πŸ˜€ ) to pack the gift. I came home, said a “Hi!” to my mom and RAN to my room while hiding the gift I had bought.

After a while I came down from my room and went to my mom. She was cutting vegetables to prepare the delicious concoction of motherly love called in Indian terms, Sambhar (its kinda like gravy). I held out my hand and said “Happy birthday mommy” (yeah… I still call her mommy… SO WHAT!!??). She said “what is it?” I said-“It’s a little something for your birthday”. Then she opened it with a wonderful smile on her face and said-“Its BEAUTIFUL!”. Wondering what it was? Well I gifted her a photo frame. I loaded my parents’ 25th wedding anniversary pic into it and packed it again. Then she said that it was the first gift SHE had received on her birthday.

Had I heard it right? Maybe there was too much wax in my ears. But then, what I heard was not wrong. I felt WONDERFUL when I gifted it to her. Have you ever heard of a saying that goes-“Happiness lies not in receiving, but in giving.” So true! All that I thought about me not receiving even a single gift on my birthday just vanished in a moment. That day I went to bed knowing I truly made my mom happy. LOVE YOU MOM!!!

Entry filed under: Love, Mom. Tags: , , , , , , , .

WTF!!! A Day to be Remembered!!!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. harshasrisri  |  July 12, 2008 at 11:15 AM

    so sweet. incidentally… even i gifted my mom for the first time this year… the story abt goin to the gift shop and being perplexed remained the same… but it was done on the previous evening… (i had a little help from namitha to get the price bargained) it was a maroon rose made out of glass and held in a black matt finish metal stem… coupled with this, a colorful and lively greeting card… πŸ™‚ come next morning, my father tried to remind me of what day it was, and i (apparently) absent-mindedly told it was the day of my internals… after brushing my teeth, i went to her and saw her sleeping… sang a slow and soft bday song and showed her the gifts… i could say one thing… i dont know if she’d be happier had i presented her with a necklace… so sweet the smile of mom… πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 2. Anniyan  |  July 12, 2008 at 11:32 AM

    SUPER! Nice going. I guess its the best feeling in the world when we make our parents smile. Nothing else even comes CLOSE to it.

    Reply
  • 3. MAG  |  July 12, 2008 at 12:11 PM

    Good da…… It is nice to know that you are sharing all these intimate moments with mom and dad which very essential in life. believe me, these things itself will bring an oceanic change in your life…..

    Always remember…..

    ONE THING IN LIFE WHICH IS CONSTANT IS “CHANGE”….

    You be the change for someone’s life is even bigger……….

    Overall…. happy for you

    Reply
  • 4. Anniyan  |  July 12, 2008 at 1:41 PM

    @Mag
    Thanks bro. Glad to know that you came back here. Change is the only thing that keeps the world going. And about intimate moments, yes I agree with you completely. Memories are the only things that remain in your heart forever.

    Reply
  • 5. Reets  |  September 27, 2008 at 2:55 PM

    That was a very sweet gesture and am sure Amma must be glad having u around…

    Reply
  • 6. Anniyan  |  September 27, 2008 at 5:54 PM

    @Reets
    Oh yes. But she misses having my elder brother and his 3 year old kid around. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 7. [Sticky]: For newcomers « Care to take a look?  |  December 12, 2008 at 5:10 PM

    […] Happy Birthday! […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



