The Game Maker

June 27, 2011 at 8:04 PM 3 comments


Hello readers! For those of you who have been following my blog and not finding any recent updates, my humble apologies. But I am now here to say a few things about the recent developments in my career/professional life. The first development being my completion of the B.E. course. I really don’t want to talk about this as it has been a long and arduous task for me. That was majorly because of my lack of trust in the current exam and education system. That is also a whole other thing that I would be talking about in another post.

And now, I come to the point. What am I going to do next? For the past few years of my exposure to programming, I have always wondered if anything fun can be done with software programming other than just those which provide solutions to various problems. The answer was right there in front of me: Game Development. I have been hooked onto video games and computer games since I was a child. I like almost all games and I am interested any game that comes my way.

That said, I never play games just for fun or for whiling away time. I always went into the intricacies of the game, wondering how much the developer has put into it. I derive some kind of knowledge from it (I will be coming back to this point later on). And I enjoy whatever it is that the developer has thrown into the game. I had a sense of satisfaction that I had done something marvelous by finishing the game. After I felt this feeling a good number of times, I started thinking, what if I could make someone feel that way?

That is when I started finding more about this field. Many things hindered my progress in this field, of which I don’t want to talk about right now. But now, I feel I have been liberated from that prison. After my feeble attempts at developing games like Tic-tac-toe and Hangman with Javascript and HTML, I have chanced upon a programming language that has captured my complete interest: PYTHON. I started learning game development with the help of this tutorial by Lorenzo E. Danielsson which uses a library called pygame. And already I have developed small games like Whack-A-Mole and Snake(both of the being very minimal implementations).

Now I am confident that I will be well on my way to making games for a living. This being said, I would like to touch upon something that I had mentioned earlier. Most people see games as “Mind-melting addictions“. I see them as knowledge banks which have much to offer the younger generation. I developed interest in History and mythology only after playing some games like Commandos, Rise of Nations and Age of Mythology. While there are other games that are based on pure fantasy, that is not all that they offer. For example, Warcraft may be a game that is completely fantasy based. But it provides a way in which to improve our strategic thinking while having fun. These are just very few examples of what I have derived from games.

So to conclude, I want to say that games are not just toys that we use for pastime. They are much more than that. And I feel ecstatic to think that I will be developing games like these in the near future, no matter what kind of obstacles I might encounter on my journey. Until next time, signing off, Pavan a.k.a AnniYan. Adios!!

Entry filed under: Computer, Education, Game Development, Work. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Two sides of the same coin No More

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Reema  |  June 28, 2011 at 8:14 PM

    congrats on completing B.E. all the best for future

    Reply
    • 2. Anniyan  |  June 29, 2011 at 11:39 AM

      Heyy… Thanks… :)

      Reply
  • 3. Quakeboy  |  November 2, 2011 at 8:01 PM

    Congrats buddy ! ;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

