Study Hard, Live Easy.

June 1, 2010 at 9:02 PM 8 comments


Hello everyone!!! I am back here today after another long break to talk about something that’s been eating me from since I was a child. See the title? That’s what my parents used to tell me when I was a child. Regarding what? Studies of course! Whenever I used to tell that I was finding it hard to score enough marks, THIS is what they used to tell me.

Look Pavan, if you study hard now you can live easy for the rest of your life.

I never wondered then, what those words even meant. But after a certain point I started to get rebellious. That was it. I started questioning each and everything. This behavior started somewhere around the end of my teenage. Maturity dawns, eh? Whatever it is, I started to think I had wasted my entire childhood. Why? Because I realized that whatever we were taught and whatever we were MADE to think was just useless. I am referring to all the bookish knowledge that most toppers nowadays seem to have in abundance.

Marks were everything. What am I saying? They still are EVERYTHING. However, I am not here to complain about my childhood nor what I didn’t learn then. I want to talk about what is being done to the younger generation. Let me try and give you an overview.

Parents want their children to be over-competitive. By this I mean that each parent wants their child to think that he/she has to be the BEST at EVERYTHING. Well, aspiring to do this is most definitely not wrong. But if it becomes an obsession, it is harmful to the psyche of the child. Secondly, each parent wants their child to score the highest marks in the class, school, university and even the state. Can you imagine what the child thinks? It’s something like this; “Marks are the most important thing in life. If I get any less, its not worth living.”

Now many parents will even say that they don’t do this. Let me tell you this; they are just filthy hypocrites! Because each and every day they put the child through everything stressful they can possibly think of. And what about extra-curricular activities? The child should participate in only those activities that THEY think is fit. Finally coming to the schools, they are the WORST thing that could happen to a child. I am of course, talking about Indian schools. They teach the children things that they will use through their entire life and yet, don’t make sure if the children have understood anything at all. So what about those tests and exams; one might ask. Well, do you really think that understanding is required to score good marks? I don’t think so.

Nowadays though, there are a very few schools that follow innovative teaching methods and let the children learn these things and understand them. I have come across a couple of these schools. They concentrate on making the child learn what it wants to and how it wants to. I may not make much sense. But try to picture a pressure-free learning environment for the child. Wouldn’t they WANT to learn themselves? They get more and more curious each passing day and their thirst for knowledge increases exponentially.

So what next, parents should put the children in one of these schools and keep nagging them to score good marks? ABSOLUTELY NOT! When we expect the teachers to provide good education, we should also trust that our children are in good hands. Now one huge question pops up in our minds. If there are only a handful of these schools available, they cannot teach the entire population. Doesn’t each child have the right to quality education? Absolutely! They do! This doesn’t mean that children should not be admitted into the other normal schools at all. Only that we need to take a little care that the child doesn’t just stick to the book, but also thinks why it is so. I am again requesting this of the educated parents. What of the others? Well firstly, they can’t understand what I have written here. Secondly, they are not expected to. This is where I request the teachers to provide some motivation at least to the children to understand what it is that they are learning.

I also ask one more thing of the parents. DO NOT get fanatical about these innovative schools. The understanding by the child does not necessarily depend solely upon where they study. It is HOW they study. Make sure they understand what they are studying. Then let them think about it and ask questions and let them find out more if they are interested to. And lastly, PLEASE don’t say that you need marks and not other stuff in order to progress in life. It is the normally “other” stuff that is more important in life than marks. I will be writing one more post about what happens AFTER education. So saying I sign off today, yours truly, Pavan a.k.a AnniYan.

Entry filed under: Education, Parenting, School. Tags: , , , , , , .

Shop ’til you drop!!! The world through my foggy spectacle lenses

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Appu  |  June 1, 2010 at 10:31 PM

    Hey VERY good advice to the parents who thinks that marks is everything. The amount of pressure the child undergoes is unexplained. Lets hope people realize what’s correct and what’s not.
    And regarding schools, my youngest sister used to go to montessori and I happened to go there once. The way they taught children was COMPLETELY different. I was so surprised and felt so proud that my little sister is learning in a different n perfect way. :)
    PS-I want to point out something.The paragraph where you have mentioned about a particular school, you could have skipped that part.
    APART from that, the post is tooo good. :)

    Reply
    • 2. Anniyan  |  June 1, 2010 at 10:35 PM

      I included the name because I want people to know that there ARE schools like that. But you’re right , it does sound like I am promoting it. Will edit. :)

      Reply
      • 3. Appu  |  June 1, 2010 at 10:43 PM

        People know that there are schools like that but you know what!! Such schools don’t have regular monthly tests, exams, home work which most parents want. :P So they don’t prefer such schools which is very sad.

        Reply
      • 4. Anniyan  |  June 1, 2010 at 10:45 PM

        VERY true. Most parents just want their children to make money. They see education as a means to make money.

        Reply
  • 5. harshasrisri  |  June 1, 2010 at 11:15 PM

    /*— life.c —*/
    .
    .
    .
    .
    resource brain;
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .

    line xx : “brain” – resource declared but seldom used. Use it mo, for ur own sake.

    Reply
    • 6. Anniyan  |  June 3, 2010 at 6:44 PM

      Ok… I just completely lost you there. Come again?

      Reply
  • 7. Reema  |  June 28, 2010 at 12:23 AM

    welcome back. how have u been?

    Reply
  • 8. smallstar  |  June 28, 2010 at 5:20 PM

    hiiii!!!!
    so happy to see ya again here!!! :)

    how are things goin’?? I hope u r fine…

    I have deleted my old blog, now I have another one….
    (just for info)

    have a great day…
    hugs

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

