Shop ’til you drop!!!

April 22, 2010 at 9:30 PM 2 comments


Hello readers! Good day to you all. Today I come here to express my feelings and thoughts about a seemingly simple, yet inherently complex topic – Shopping. When I say shopping, I don’t mean the safe kind which everyone does in order to satisfy their necessities. So now that we are clear about that, let me start with what I actually want to say.

The other day I had been to Mantri Square mall that recently opened in Malleswaram, Bangalore. I could see a variety of people there. Out of those, my interest wandered towards these two types:

  • I have lots of money. So I shall spend it on stuff I don’t really need, but it’ll provide me some variety in life.
  • I have some money that I could really use. However, I am going to spend it on some extra stuff that I don’t really need.

Of these, the first type of people are filthy rich. They have lots of money and can buy as much as they would want to and still have enough money to do other stuff. They shop because they want to buy something they like or because they just want to shop. Either way, I am not very bothered. They want shop and they can afford to shop.

The second kind are just there either because the others are doing it or because they want to show off with some costly commodities. The other reason could be that they really like something and want to buy it badly, even though they don’t need it. This is the kind of people that I am here to talk about now.

When I say unnecessary stuff, I mean the extras that you really don’t need even to be comfortable. Let me give you an example. A girl has 6 pairs of footwear, one to suit each occasion. This is understandable. But if that girl had 20 different pairs that she uses for these same occasions, I think it’s a little useless. I am not referring to only girls in this post. I do know quite a few guys that buy stuff that they can definitely do without.

What I am trying to say here is that these people might have all the things that are required to live comfortably. But they are not contented with that and want luxury. That is where the problem arises. The people that usually fall into this category are the middle-class people. Everything has a limit; and so does shopping.

So whoever is reading this post, please try to think and re-think whether you really need a product before you buy it. It saves you all from a lot of frustration and financial problems. So saying I take your leave until we meet next time. Signing off, Pavan a,k,a AnniYan.

Entry filed under: society, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Life… In a nutshell. Study Hard, Live Easy.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Divya R Rao  |  April 23, 2010 at 8:02 PM

    Yeah! The post makes a lot of sense I must say.. I’ve come across one more set of people who want to shop only in branded shopping centres (as you mentioned – Mantri / Forum / Brigade / MG Road) and they look down upon others who shop at non-branded centres (like say, Jayanagar / Gandhi Bazar / any other local shop). So what exactly happens here is, people who shop at non-branded stores get ‘influenced’ by those who shop at branded ones! So, they just shop at branded stores for the heck of it.. Not because they like shopping there! It’s because they want to please/brag about it to their friends / relatives / or any one in their vicinity!! And hence they shed loads of cash!
    I personally feel, shopping should be done, as you said when need arises and to satisfy ones needs and not to please someone else out there! :)

    Reply
  • 2. Reema  |  April 23, 2010 at 9:50 PM

    very true!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

